Food: supermarket or restaurant? in keeping it postive

  • Aug. 12, 2014, 4:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I waver between the two. Supermarket is MUCH less expensive. Restaurant(s), a greater selection. Though there's quite a selection at the market also.

I go to the market and find NOTHING I am interested in, or a few items. Then when I am home, I find NOTHING I want to prepare to eat.

I love Trader Joe's due to the wonderful selection. Today I bought chopped salad; FRESH, ripe sliced mango; risotto mix... I also bought summer squash, cottage cheese, cauliflower, packaged Indian food, and chicken noodle soup in a small box.

I've had the mango - boy it was perfect - and the cottage cheese with the chopped salad mixed in. And I am still trolling the cabinets for more food.

Sure, I can make curried vegetables. I bought the vegetables with just that in mind.

In my neighborhood, the take out Chinese restaurant has most dishes that interest me under $5. My current favorite is chicken with bean sprouts and white rice (with a ginger sauce).

Maybe I just don't want to cook....


Nicko the famous August 12, 2014

I'm very familiar with that situation!! Under $5, wow that is pretty cheap - I'd be so tempted to eat there all the time at that price.

I've found a few cheapish places around me but most of it is proper restaurants where you'd most likely end up spending $30+ for a meal so I try to be good.

Darcy0207 from OD Nicko the famous ⋅ August 13, 2014

Even in proper restaurants, I can easily spend about $10 for a huge dinner. But in my area, especially the Chinese take out - most dishes (as I don't eat beef/pork) are around $5.

woman in the moon August 12, 2014

I don't cook much at all. I graze. I'm not proud of it.

Darcy0207 from OD woman in the moon ⋅ August 13, 2014

I only cook in the microwave, so have to alter some foods. I made curried vegetables today - potatoes, summer squash, chick peas, cauliflower with a can of diced tomatoes and lots of curry (it's old and has lost most of its bite). It was VERY good. I still have some left - for later...

I guess I graze mostly also.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.