3 More Days! in Regular Stuff

  • Aug. 12, 2014, 5:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Only 3 more days until we move! Of course you would never know it by looking around our place now lol. It is amazing how much stuff we accumulate. The clothes alone are truly unbelievable. Personally, I have very little. Throughout the years I have downsized with every move. A lot of my stuff that was stored in my sister's garage, was lost during a hurricane. Clothes aside, I could probably fit my life into 2 medium sizes boxes and that's the truth. And my bed of course.

The exterminator went out to the new house last week. Aimee and the landlord met him there. He did find droppings behind the stove and refrigerator and also some holes, which he patched up. He put down traps and sprayed something all around the house. The landlord reluctantly agreed to a year contract with them to come out every month. Please pray and/or think good thoughts that all the little critters are gone. I cannot live with mice, I just can't. I did it once and it was a terrifying existence until we got rid of them. I'm much older now and my heart can't take it lol.

I'm excited about moving and living in a house again although the mouse incident did damper a lot of my enthusiasm. It's coming back though. It's been about 15 years since I have lived in a house! I'm so thrilled that these little ones will finally have a yard to play in. Every kid deserves that, especially these days when it's no longer safe to just run around the neighborhood. Any neighborhood. And what a shame that is. I know a lot of you remember the good ole days. When we left home in the morning, only coming back at mealtimes. Hours and hours of running, jumping, and skipping. Playing tag, dodge ball and jumping rope to silly songs. Using our muscles and imagination to have the greatest times. All the mom's watching out for each other's kids. If you had to use the bathroom or scraped your knee, you just went to the nearest house. We loved being outside!

While technology is a wonderful thing, I think it has really robbed kids of knowing how to have fun without it. That, and pedophiles. It's no wonder we have such a childhood obesity epidemic in this country, kids aren't moving. I know junk food and fast foods are also part of the issue, but look what we ate as kids. We had candy and sodas, dinners rich with butter and gravies, lots of red meat, big breakfasts, desserts every night. The difference is, in my opinion, we were moving all the time. Okay, stepping down from my soapbox :).

The other day I was thinking about changing my icon pic. That got me to remembering how it was at OD. Do you OD veterans remember how nobody used their real picture in the beginning? It was a big deal when someone posted pics in an entry. Basically very few people knew what each other looked like. There was even this page that someone named Viper created, and it had a bunch of OD'ers pictures on it. Like a lot of them actually. I'm not sure where he got the pics but it was cool to finally see what others looked like.

I still miss that place but I am grateful to have this one. I did back up my OD but I've never printed or tried to make it manageable. I really want do that one day especially to get the letters I wrote my grandchildren. Speaking of that, I saw a cool idea on Facebook the other day. You create an email account for your child/grandchild and send them letters throughout their childhood. Then when they are 18, you give them the account information and password. Simple, huh? Relatives, friends, anyone important in their lives, could send them email(s). I think waiting till they're 18 is a little extreme, I think they could start appreciating it earlier than that. Aimee used gmail to create an account for all 3 girls.

Well I better go. I think next time I will try to figure out how to post pictures here.


Anaiss August 12, 2014

I have been wondering what is going on with your move -- I'm so glad the landlord got an exterminator out there. I know you will be a little on edge at first, worried that you're going to see a mouse at any moment, but hopefully things will settle down and you'll have good reason to get over that fear. I'm excited for you guys! Yes, I remember playing out in the neighborhood all day long when we were kids. We knew how far away we were allowed to go, and we also knew how often we had to check in with mom at home. And the rule always was that we had to come inside when the street lights came on. Here in the Seattle area there was a rape and murder of a beautiful little 6-year old girl last week. It turns out it was a 17-year old neighbor boy who did it. But in the meantime, the parents have come under a great deal of criticism (totally deserved, in my opinion) because they didn't report her missing for 24 hours -- the last time they saw her was when she went to bed at 10:00 p.m. on Saturday night and they didn't call the police until Sunday night because she was accustomed to roaming their mobile home park neighborhood all day long, often eating her meals at other homes and never coming home during the day. Six years old! Her parents didn't see her on Sunday morning when they got up and didn't get concerned until Sunday night. Unbelievable. When I was SIXTEEN my parents would have called the police first thing that morning!

Ann1107 Anaiss ⋅ August 12, 2014

know I will be on edge at first, expecting to see a mouse at any minute. I'm sure I will settle down in a few days :) I read about that little girl. Like you, I was shocked by the parents attitude. I could not imagine reacting that way! I would be crazy with worry!

Leslie Bruce August 13, 2014

I completely agree about obesity. We are just a lot more sedentary than we used to be. I don't think our food has changed much, but everything else is so convenient now, we don't have to work for our calories!

Ferret Mom August 13, 2014

I was a kid in the 80's and I played outside every day (well, unless the weather was bad enough to make that impossible). All of the kids in the whole neighborhood would roam in a pack together and as long as everyone showed up for dinner and to turn in at night when the sun set it was cool. Kids today don't play with each other unless their moms set up play dates, and even then half of the time they spend it on video games. And hey, we had Nintendo in my age, but we still went outside to catch fireflies. Do kids today even know how to play Ghost in the Graveyard or Capture the Flag?? Ok I just realize I am ranting and I am sorry.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.