Bad - 12.08.14 in Your Face

  • Aug. 12, 2014, 6:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today was a bad day.

Robin Williams is dead, and I am very upset about it. For several reasons, really. Firstly, he was hilarious. Secondly, he was huge in the 90's, when I was growing up, and he was endearing and sensitive and loving. Thirdly, I am just so sad for him. To have wanted to stop living, he must have been in a terrible place. Sure, I crap on in here about how I think about killing myself, but I think we all know that I'm still a ways away from actually doing it. I'm sad that he won't be around to enjoy his family, but he made his decision, and it's done. He's gone. I guess I'm just shocked.

In other news, I got my shoes absolutely caked in mud after I had to squeeze past one of my brother's THREE cars, that he insists on parking right up near the house so there's no space to walk through. His dog was yelping and squeaking and carrying on all day and I want to shoot it in the face. There was a letter in the mailbox for him from the Sheriff's office, which probably means that they'll be coming out to see if they can take any of his shit to satisfy his debts, and also means that, surprise surprise, he's done nothing at all about a situation that was ridiculously out of hand nearly 18 months ago when he and mother were harassing me about it. Asshole refuses to accept responsibility for his own actions, this is what happens. I told them both, ten times, all he had to do to make it go away (I do this shit for a living, for fuck's sake). Guess what? He didn't do shit.

Oh, I'm in a mood today. Or, just every day. I have a wicked eye twitch.


Diana of the hunt August 13, 2014

I was going to contribute to your gofundme, because I sympathize with your plight. But your comment about wanting to shoot a dog in the face--just, no. You're mad at your idiot brother. Don't take it out on a dog. You're unhappy with your situation. Don't take it out on a dog. You're angry at your "husband." Don't take it out on a dog. Dogs aren't punching bags; they're thinking, feeling beings. If they don't "get" something, it's because we haven't taught them/helped them understand. I had a highly trained therapy dog, my companion and soulmate. A mentally ill "neighbor" blew his brains out for no reason other than he is an angry, self-loathing, black-hearted, poor excuse for a human. I will never recover. So, if it feels good to you to casually toss off a sentiment like that, shooting a dog in the face, then no. Not interested in helping that kind of person.

AlexYourAlterEgo Diana of the hunt ⋅ August 13, 2014

Firstly, thank you for even thinking about helping me. I understand your decision not to, but thank you just the same.

Secondly, I apologise for offending you. It was a throw away comment that I should have thought more about. I know it's not the dog's fault, I'm just very frustrated. And I'd never do it, I could never deliberately kill or hurt any animal, let alone perform the violent act that I described.

I often consider calling the rangers to come and do a welfare check on the dog, because it is clearly so miserable. Sure, it gets fed and watered, and has shelter, but it's not getting nearly the amount of attention it requires - that's why it acts up, and I know that. I can't give it that attention, because it is extremely short tempered and often growls and snaps at people - it's a rottweiler. But, then what? What if they take him away? No one will adopt a dog with that sort of temperament. My brother ended up with him because he was living in a dump, barely getting fed and no one wanted him.

Anyway. It is our household's problem, and not yours. I just wanted to give a little background.

So, again - I apologise. I am horrified that has happened to you, and I'm sorry to have made such a flippant comment without considering it further. I didn't mean to offend at all, and I hope you can believe me when I say I would never do such a thing, despite my comment in this entry.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.