a dilemma in rants

  • Aug. 11, 2014, 2:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I belong to a group in facebook. I was asked to join by the person who leads the group as we met in farmville (a game). She felt I was accepting and non-judgmental.

That's true to a point.

The group is for lesbians... which I am not... but not everything they post has to do with woman on woman action. There are comments, games, birthday "celebrations" and humor.

It's the humor I am having trouble with. MOST of the members of the group are African American - including the person whose group it is. Much of the humor is, in my eyes, racist. In other words, I'd be run out of town on a rail if I'd posted ANY of it - habits, clothing, body type, facial types, etc.

I am uncomfortable with this "humor". I don't think it's funny, although often within a group members feel that they can make fun of themselves with others like them. I wrote a note to the leader, then deleted it. I can't figure out how to say I like the group and the belonging, but find the "humor" offensive. Without offending people who find it all very funny.


Nicko the famous August 11, 2014

Hmmmmmm. That's a tricky one. If only you didn't like other parts of the group you could just leave it.

If it was me, I think I'd just leave anyway if it was bothering me. But that's just me!

Darcy0207 from OD Nicko the famous ⋅ August 11, 2014

I have been considering it. It doesn't help that I actually met the person whose group it is when she was in town for the pride parade in June.

woman in the moon August 11, 2014

I don't think you can complain about the humor. Either take it or leave it. It's theirs. In a way you're getting a look inside a group that few people get. Maybe you could just consider it broadening and let it go at that.

ermentrude August 11, 2014

Yep, I agree with the noters above. hugs x

Ragdolls August 13, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.