Few people I'd like to see before they die... in Prosebox Desert Island Discs

  • Aug. 10, 2014, 4:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Because I've worked in the music industry, I generally have been quite spoiled in terms of the people I've seen perform. James Brown, Dylan, Cat Stevens, Oasis, Travis, Biffy Clyro, Annie Lennox, Suzanne Vega, the ever fabulous Lush, REM, Barenaked Ladies, Jewel... and mostly in really tiny venues or personal performances (Franny from Travis and Yusuf Islam both have a habit of singing us their new tunes rather than sending a tape...). I'm sure there are quite a few other people I have seen up close and personal, but those are the performances which stand out live. Will Young used to be my PA and Gary Barlow has made me the odd cup of tea too... Tons of stuff I've been a punter at too... Bon Jovi, Michael Jackson, Snow Patrol (they told me to shut up from on stage - quite impressive, no? haha!)

Anyway it occurred to me there are still a few bands I want to see before I die - or more likely before they die...

Madonna - who I WOULD have seen if AgentX wasn't such an arse and gave our tickets for the last tour to his bloody useless assistant - I've still not forgiven him for that.

Elton John - I know his voice is not the same but I really would love just to go... I actually have a vague connection through little sis' godfather, but I doubt he sits at the piano tinkling all day and I wouldn't really want to do a huge stadium gig for him.

Aerosmith - all the old stuff... I kinda love that they all should be dead.

Guns N Roses - Again I did have tickets years ago but my mum grounded me for no reason whatsoever so that I couldn't go aged about 14/15. I'm bearing a grudge there too. I don't want to see the new line up, I want the original even though Axl Rose just looks plain scary now.

Rod Stewart - Would really love to see him live, not the cheesy 80s stuff, the 70s stuff. I would have fancied Rod Stewart had I been 20 years older I reckon, but as he was a critically badly dressed overblown cheester by the time I was a teenager it wasn't something I got into until later.


Etoile Filante August 10, 2014

I need The Bowie to tour again! xXx

Camdengirl Etoile Filante ⋅ August 11, 2014

Now that is one I'd have loved to have seen in the 70s at the very height of his fame.... not so much these days, particularly since he disgusted me with his stupid support of the No vote. He also was really difficult to work with in terms of getting clearances for no particular reason... am not big fan.

Princess Pitbull.com August 11, 2014

I read it the same as Princess-Peach-Pie. lol. xx

Deleted user August 11, 2014

I would like to see David Bowie and the foo fighters

Camdengirl Deleted user ⋅ August 11, 2014

Foo fighters are good live - seen them a few times!

Mel August 13, 2014

I agree with Rod Steward and Aerosmith....not sure about the others.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.