I need advice. in Trust the Journey pt 2

  • May 18, 2023, 5:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hi,
This is relationship advice and I need help with how to go about a problem that is weighing on my mind. I literally cannot stop thinking about it but I feel as though if i say something I am going to come off as an asshole or not right. I feel like I need some help how to explain my feelings without maybe seeming selfish even maybe I am thinking selfish idk anyway here is the situation.

Ms mom is getting married in Aug and we are going originally M was sitting at the main table but I caused a fuss about it now he is going to sit with me. So I re brought that situation up because I don’t want to take away from his mothers day and I needed him to know that if the original plan was for him to sit up at the main table then he should. We talked about it but it quickly turned into a argument.

See he claims he didn’t know but we all know he did lol.. anyway I told him that I should have been made aware that I was not going to be sitting with him because I have social anxiety and at that point it should have been my decision if I wished to go to the wedding after all I am just a guest. I was not aware of this before the tickets were bought for us to fly out to alberta.

So he said again I didn’t even know, then he said that he knows my social anxiety goes away when after I am in a situation so he did not see it as a big deal plus I would have been sitting with people I know and it’s just a dinner.. his quotes ” I am going to be out mingling after anyway so idk what your expecting” To me that hurt me because essentially I am going to be alone like I had already said I would be I made it pretty clear when we go to family things his mom is my clutch I even told her that when she was here. she told me I had nothing to worry about her sister would make sure I am okay.. See the problem is it’s not her sisters job it’s his job and he is literally putting me in a situation I would rather not be in.

When I mentioned that I shoulda been given the choice if I go or not he said if I had chosen not to go then we would be over. I said I would never be doing it out of disrespect or to hurt someone but that I matter. I said to him that basically in his opinion I have to do what he wants me to no matter how it makes me feel to which he replied it’s not about me it’s about my mother. I said well I matter too you need to realize that. Then he said that if it was reversed and it was my mom I would be the sameway. I said listen I would never put you in a situation to be uncomfortable period and he replied but I wouldn’t be uncomfortable.. so I replied that means he already doesn’t understand.

I don’t know how to address this issue I hate talking about that wedding but at the same time I am feeling hurt and basically wondering if I even matter to this man in this moment he walked all over me and in not so many words told me that i did not matter and that I should want to be there because my family is apart of the wedding..

Granted this all came about because she was a brides maid from hell and he asked me if he talked to his mom if I would take the girls place. I said to him your mom had a chance to ask me while she was here and I asked her if she had a back up plan. I prefer she does not ask me I am not a second choice for anyone and I do want the thanks for showing up award. I think it annoyed him but I said I was never thought of for the position so I don’t want it. however if his mother asked I would not say no lol because i am not an asshole lol and we all know that about me. I let him know I prefer it not to be me and I actually think that’s what started the whole messy convo..

Should I let it die see if his actions match his words? maybe they were words of anger not thinking? I hate talking about the wedding and I hate it so much this brings on so much anxiety for me and it’s less then 3mnths away now.


Sleepy-Eyed John May 18, 2023

I'd talk about him dismissing your feelings. It might cause a reaction but I think that's what needs fixing. As for chaperone I dunno. He shouldn't have given you ultimatum.

JSL Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ May 18, 2023

it should have been my choice and the fact that he got his mom to change the seating arrangement shows that he knew.. Honestly if he had just sat me down and told me that I would not be at the main table with him and that I would be with people I have atleast met I likely still would have went after all my children are apart of this wedding ofc I would want to be there. I just would like to have been informed about it ahead had I not asked him about it I would have been completely blind sided that would have hurt more, he would have just said " I didn't know". I warm up to people fast and typically I can handle social situations but I do have alot of anxiety and not being considered even a little just feels shitty. I over think and I over react so by the time I say what I feel it's normally from an over thinking mind stand point

Jodie May 18, 2023

I would tell him exactly what you have said here...But at the same time tell him it's about your comfort and not anyone elses. And can't he go without you if you chose not to go?

JSL Jodie ⋅ May 18, 2023

Well now I am basically forced to go the questions I should have asked I waited to long to ask.. travelling within Canada is pretty expensive and since his mom paid our flights it would be mean of me to do. However he could have went there without me and brought our daughter it would have been a win for everyone.. His mom would have saved money he would have got to go see his bestie without me. I'm happy I'm going and I likely will be okay with everything even if he ends up at the main table and I need to socialize without him I will be okay because I warm up to social enviroments pretty fast however I have alot of anxiety surrounding everything...

In the past I had a bad experience with the family and sometimes everyone is talking to eachother and I feel like I don't fit in and then my mind goes a little crazy i'm just hurt that my feelings and anxiety were never even thought of and his lame excuse that I should want to be there because all my family is apart of the wedding.. Yes all my party BUT ME lol

Jodie JSL ⋅ May 18, 2023

His mom should have asked if you wanted to go before the tickets were bought and then you give the yes or no for her to get the tickets or not...Does everyone know your issues? If they do then they need to make sure you are okay with what they want from you.

Wallflowergirl May 18, 2023

For me if I had a significant other that was not capable of sitting at a table away from me because of social anxiety, I’d end that relationship. I’m just being honest here. I’m an adult and I don’t want to be in a relationship with someone who can’t be uncomfortable for a short period of time. It would be a burden that I would not be willing to put up with.

I know that may come across as harsh, but I’m just being honest.

JSL Wallflowergirl ⋅ May 18, 2023

Honestly though that's your opinion and it's justified to you.. however I personally do not care if that would have ended our relationship honestly because I matter and it's my decision if I want to feel uncomfortable and not going was an option before tickets were bought and paid for.. If I said I didn't wish to go and for whatever reason he decided to end the relationship I would have moved on..

Everyone has what they can handle and what they can't but to take someones choice away when your aware of something just because you feel they should do something for you is not right. Again the issue is not if we sat at the same table or not honestly it's not you would know that if you read what i actually said.. when I told him to tell his mother to change the seating back to how it was because he should be at the main table but I still should have had an option and that's just being kind.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.