"Nerd" in Tales of Transhumanism

  • Aug. 9, 2014, 9:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When will this bullshit stop?

You are not nerdy just because you watch The Big Bang Theory.
You are not nerdy just because you follow Leonard Nimoy on Twitter.
You are not nerdy just because you draw moustaches all over the fucking place.
You are especially not nerdy just because you happen to have a t-shirt with the word GEEK or NERD emblazoned on the fucking front.
You are not a fucking nerd or a geek just because you play video-games. Stop saying that right now. The video-game industry is a multi-billion dollar industry, and there aren't that many nerds on the planet.
You are not a fucking nerd if you own an Apple computer of any kind. Work your way around a Linux distro and get back to me.

Do you play Dungeons and Dragons? Do you play Warhammer? Do you own any book by Steve Jackson? Does math excite you? Can you program C++? Python? Fucking QBasic? If so, you might be a nerd. But you are definitely not a Goddamn nerd just because the internet told you it's cool to be one. When I was at school we were bullied, harrassed, beaten up and otherwise fucked with every fucking day of our lives, and now the exact kind of asshole who bullied us every day is calling him/herself a "geek" or a "nerd". Frankly, it's fucking insulting.

So if you could just put down those fucking stupid glasses and kill yourselves, that'd be great.


AlexYourAlterEgo August 09, 2014

Agreed. Absolutely agreed.

Who's Laughing Now? AlexYourAlterEgo ⋅ August 10, 2014

I know people, and I use the term loosely, who considers themselves "geek" because they went to see the Avengers movie, but when pressed about which Avengers story-arc is their favorite, they say "Oh, I don't read comic books - I have a life".

Are you fucking kidding me right now?!?

AlexYourAlterEgo Who's Laughing Now? ⋅ August 10, 2014

Yep. My Heslop was calling me a nerd because I play AOE. It's pretty much the only slightly "nerd" thing I do, so, no. I don't think so.

Who's Laughing Now? AlexYourAlterEgo ⋅ August 10, 2014

Ha! What the fuck! So you're a "nerd" because you play a video-game now? What a bunch of horseshit!

God, people can be so Goddamn annoying.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.