I’m still alive! in Musings

  • May 14, 2023, 2:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can’t believe it’s been so long since I’ve updated. So much has happened.

The main thing is I quit my job. It led to a whole realization that caregiving is not for me anymore. It isn’t good for my mental or physical health. It is hard because it’s all I’ve ever done so finding a “real” job was nearly impossible. And I tried.

But since August I have been running my Etsy shop along with reselling. I really enjoy both of them I just wish it was more consistent. I like working for myself and I’m good at it but not having a steady paycheck is scary. Especially in this economy. But we are making it work.

We moved the girls to the school across the street. They walk to school. It’s really cute. I have mostly been happy with it. Next week is their last weeks of 1st and 4th grade which is bonkers. I’m not looking forward to having to work while having them home all summer but we will survive.

Next year is Leah’s last year of elementary school which is bananas. She had some struggles this year and we have contemplated getting her tested for ADHD. Which we probably will do but time got away from us. I’m really proud of her for how she got through this school year and she made some really sweet friends.

I realized today that I didn’t have to contact Alex’s teacher once this whole year. We went to conferences of course but other than that I never had a reason to message her. Alex is honestly just such a sweet, sensitive, eager to please child but she has enough fire in her that she won’t let herself be pushed around. I just love her.

Nathan is now working for the government. Still the same location just no longer contract work. Which is nice because of benefits and the opportunity to get more promotions. He works really hard and is a great dad. I love how much we still love each other even after being together 14 (!) years and married for 12.

I still miss River so much but Lily and I have now formed such a close bond in the past year without her. Lily is my heart dog. She sits on my feet while I drink coffee, is the easiest dog to walk ever, and likes playing with the girls. Her only downfall is she can and will pick up baby birds and rabbits and bring them in the house. Not cute.

Big family wise: Nathan’s brother and his wife are about to have their second baby—a girl. She’s due anytime which is exciting! My brother and his wife are due in August with their 3rd baby. Another boy. I love being an aunt.

There is so much more I could write about but just wanted to put this out while I was thinking about it.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.