Bi-annual doings . . . in A small but passable life.

  • May 5, 2023, 7:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I finished reading “The Last Chairlift” by John Irving and “Old Babes in the Wood” by Margaret Atwood.

Now I’m reading a new Owen King I found when I returned the other two books. Yes, that King, his son.

May 1st and November 1st. Those are the the unofficial start and endings of the desert “seasons” here. The two seasons being hot and hotter.

I washed my winter cargo shorts and brought out my summer cargo shorts. I washed my street socks that I keep in my boots, that I’ve worn less than a dozen times in the last six months, and replaced them with the other of two pair I own. I switched from my winter bush hat with the neck flap to my summer sea-straw hat.

I gave myself a short haircut and beard trim.

And I now have prescription sunglasses from Zenni Optical. These are the first polarized sunglasses I’ve ever owned. I can see the dust in the air now.

The Grandson is ten months old now. It seems like just yesterday I was holding him in one hand.

I went grocery shopping for the first time in two-and-a-half years. I went without a list and almost bought too much, but managed to get it all home on the scooter. I went because I suspected that some things on the website labeled “out of stock” weren’t actually out of stock. I was correct in that assumption. Dumbasses not updating or something.

So yeah, life, it’s a gas!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.