The vending Machine Route on Tuedays in Misc. Thoughts opinions, the whole trash can.

  • Aug. 9, 2014, 12:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am helping this woman on Tuesdays, with her vending machine route. It takes about 6 hours, barring problems to finish. I arrive about 545 am at her house, load up, and 45 minutes later we're en route.

A couple we know, has since moved to Phoenix, to take care of aging parents.
Alex , the husband, worked with Cindy, at Starbucks as a Barista. He helped out as needed. Cindy and her husband, don't work this route, in an efficient manner. Cindy's husband is sorta a #########. Alex helped out with half the route, then helped with the full route. The move back to Phoenix, put her in a bind. Alex gave a good amount of lead time, and she recruited another Starbucks person. He was unreliable, and left her in a lurch two weeks in a row. Alex knows I am retired from the railroad, and says would you be interested?

Sure I'll give it a try, and if it doesn't work out, sorry and thanks for the opportunity. I go through a couple of weeks with them both, and see what the route holds. It is interesting and I am not in it for the money. It is helping someone that needs help with the route. There can be as much as 6 cases of pop / soda on the dolly plus the vending machine totes .

WE load up for Freeway Ford Service department, Freeway Ford sales a half a mile down by I-25 and Evans Ave. Lockton Companies Inc is the next client. Funny thing, guess who works there? Yep the wife ( mine) and I know several people here. Executives, Account managers, and down the chain.

Yep ol King Dork is in regal splendor here. This is a major insurance brokerage for industry, health care, Property and Casualty, and the federal Government contractors, etc. It's big stuff. I always joke my wife is the 'brains" of the family, and I'm the dumb ol rail.

We work the 1st, 4th, 6th and 7th floors. First has a combo snack vending / pop machine. Floors 4 and 7 are pop only. The sixth floor is the lunch room. There are two pop machines and a big vendor.

After this we head to Cochlear. This is a company that provides sales and service to the hearing impaired people. Audiologists and their staff, as well as the individuals that have received hearing aids or the implants. This too, is a big client. I always tell Cindy I'm going to be unfaithful, because I have to make time with Mary Kay. Mary Kay is the receptionist. I walk in and I am given the necklace with the key card to access the doors. I tell Cindy, "Do ya forgive me, here is this beautiful necklace"...lol She's says "I knew you'd come back".

Cochlear Back is a combo vending / pop machine. It does a fair amount of business.

Cochlear Warehouse, is the office main break room. They have a coffee bar. There is a Vending machine and a Big Pop machine, this is a lil gold mine.

We head to Cochlear Kitchen. It is not a "kitchen per se, but a broad expanse for eating, a Microwave, counter space and tables .. a couple of sofas, a nice place to get away from work. If the SOC and the NOC when I was in railroad management was like that. lol Never will happen, different industries.

Cochlear "Catering" ...okay it is not a catering facility. But there is a large "bar, for food. This is where the meeting rooms are located, for training and general meetings. They bring in food, hence "catering". There is a pop machine there.

We head back to Cindy's to off load the totes, and load up for the last stop Mike Ward infinity at Highlands Ranch, CO . There is a vending machine and a "BIG" pop machine. Get that restocked and back to Cindy's.

We reload the totes with pastries donuts and snacks.. for each. make the "shopping list". Do the pop inventory and all is done.

I head home with my $75.00 wage of $1.00 bills... "My G string money", okay its a joke. I am a former railroader, remember. This is all fun, and Cindy 'n me kick ass and take names ...

Cindy has a good relationship with her clients. Get ripped off, or lost money, she gives the product and your full refund . Top notch woman, professionally and ethically. I have a fun time on Tuesdays. We have been banned in 29 countries ..lol
Thanks for reading


woman in the moon August 09, 2014

'making time' haven't heard that in a long time. Language is a wonderful thing.

WalMart's break room has sofas AND a big screen TV.

MageB August 11, 2014

You are a good guym

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.