Update for you. in My this and that

  • Aug. 7, 2014, 9:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today I am thankful for long weekends and short weeks. Even though this week is only four days long, I've been finding getting out of bed at my regular time extremely difficult. I'm definitely looking forward to the weekend again. Already.

I don't actually have anything specific to write about, but just thought I'd give a bit of an update on what is going on with me.

The guy from my last entry hasn't returned. Praise the Lord!

I'm on season six of "Grey's Anatomy". Considering how much I thought I wouldn't like this show, I'm definitely hooked. I haven't even been keeping up with my summer shows while I watch this! Poor "Under the Dome" has been neglected.

On the weekend Ben happened to look at the car's meter thingy and it said exactly 1000 km on the car. Kind of fun to look at it when it has such a round number. I still haven't really practised driving her. Always something better for me to do.

I've made a couple of real meals lately. Yesterday was a vegetable tian with chicken fingers (homemade), and a zucchini egg bake on a different day. YAY for no pizza, no pasta, no stir-fry which are definitely my go-to's. Though perhaps Friday will be pizza day if I can get to Bulk Barn and get some flour. YUM for pizza!

Folklarama is on now, and we plan to go to Romania tonight and Israel next week. Very excited!

Work is going well. I've been reading my Bible and journalling as well. I think the journalling helps things stick in my head a little better... helps me remember what I'm reading and what I want to take away from what I'm reading. I don't do it every day, but a couple times a week. I think it's helped me remember to love those who come into the office who I usually find it harder to love. Praise God for that! Growing sure isn't easy, but it is worth it.

Does anyone else find friendships difficult? The older I get, the more difficult I find it to have friends. It takes so much planning these days, and you have to make sure your schedules allign, then choose a place to hang out. Even finding the energy to instigate and ask someone to hang out is hard. I just find it so much easier to go home after work, hang out with my husband (who is my best friend and the main person I want to spend time with anyway) and then go to bed at a reasonable time. No need to worry about if we're meeting for dinner, or eating at home before we go out, or who is making dinner or paying for dinner. So much money saved. I mean, obviously the pros outway the cons because I keep doing it... making plans with other people. I even try to make new friends... but lately most of those people seem very uninterested in me. Oh well! Life is still pretty great!

Our foster cat is now able to live without the cone of shame. She's not scratching as much which is a very good sign. I think soon she can go into foster... first have to finish off the pills she is on to make sure this is a permanent thing and not just something that the drugs are taking the edge off.

Ah, that's all for now. Back to work.


chel_c August 11, 2014

YES! friendships are so much harder the older you get, instead ofa husband i have kid issues. i'd much rather just make dinner at home, hang out with my kids ect, not have to hire a sitter.. plus life get so much busier with things and life, and work, drama we are tired... i also find the older i get the earlier i want/need to go to bed lol.

much love!

Gurly239 chel_c ⋅ August 11, 2014

I'm with you on the bedtime! Sometimes it's like "Bedtime at 8;30 p.m.? Don't mind if I do!" haha

Lefty August 13, 2014

I'm kind of lucky 'cause I bought an apartment with a terrific neighbor! We have "Fend for Yourself Night" regularly, where one of us will fix supper & bring it over to the other's apartment. No budget hassle, no big planning issues, just casual time with a friend! It provides both of us with company... & no stress. ;)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.