Pets in Diary

  • Aug. 7, 2014, 5:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Amy came out with a belter yesterday. Our HR Officer was complaining about some people applying for my job; the advert says they need to complete the application form and send it with a covering letter and CV. Apparently a lot of people are only sending a CV and nothing else, so they want to reject these right away. I agreed, saying that if they can't even do that, how will they be able to do the job? Amy commented "It's hardly difficult though is it? Answering the phone." Oh right, that's all I do is it? Never mind the 500 other things I do every day. Maybe I should just answer the phone and nothing else for the next four weeks, seeing as that's all the new administrator is expected to do. Oh she'll notice when I've gone, then she'll be eating her words. Miss high and mighty, "I'm too important for lowly admin tasks now that I'm doing some work for HR." Huh. Only nine more days working with her ;o)


So I went to The Pet Show on Sunday. I ended up going on my own as Jay thought it looked really boring. I had a great time! I gave out loads of leaflets, watched sheep racing, petted about 100 dogs and horses, held a tarantula, watched piglets having their lunch, watched some very talented dogs doing heel work to music, got a free goody bag and got some ideas for my business.

Have a few photos.

Levitating sheep!

This little beauty is called Bess. You can see she's had puppies recently. She was very alert on the look out for the sheep, but she needs lots more training as she got over excited; she split two of the sheep off and chased them all around the racetrack. Dad thinks she looks a bit like Meg.

Famous cat! If anyone has read the book A Streetcat Named Bob, this is Bob! His owner, who wrote the book, was there also but I didn't see him.

This is the tarantula I held. It was awesome; I could feel the strength in its legs even when it was just stepping onto my hand :o)

Baby piggies!

Bees making honey.


So yesterday I took out a Facebook advert. 6,000 adverts targeted at people within a 10 miles radius of me, who have talked about their pets or clicked on grooming/ vet/ pet shop adverts lately. Stupidly, I looked up reviews on the company after I paid them, and the reviews were all very very bad, saying they take your money and you never get anything back. I don't know why I didn't read the reviews first, I never do that. I felt sick when I read those, thinking I'd just thrown away £60. But I've had 15 new likes on my Facebook page so far today! It might not sound like a lot, but I only had 88 likes this morning and now I'm up to 103. 15 new likes every day would be good, and I would only need one or two new customers for the advert to pay for itself :o)
Mam and dad are coming to visit tonight. I've taken tomorrow off work, which is mam's birthday, and I might treat her to a pub lunch or something. We're also going to my roller derby team's 4th birthday party tomorrow, so we can pretend it's her birthday party as well.

It will be strange them visiting without Meg. She was such a big part of their lives and mam says they're having a hard time at the moment. Dad loved their daily walks as part of his routine, he's always had dogs, ever since he was a boy, he's never been without one. Not sure what he's going to do with himself now. They don't want another dog as they want to start travelling more when Dad retires properly. It'll just take time to adjust.

15 working days remaining


history of love August 07, 2014

This amy sounds like a right piece of work! If ever you needed to know you were doing the right thing eh? The pet show looks amazing!! Esp the sheep!

One thing I have seen local businesses doing is when they get near a bit number of "likers" on fb is that they mention it. So you could go "hi to all my new likers, I'm only 5 away from 100 help me get there" type of thing? That isnt a very good example - am on my phone at work. But something similar? You are doing really well and you haven't even officially "launched" yet! :-)

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ August 07, 2014

Oh she is, whenever I get worried if I'm doing the right thing, I just think about Amy; she's helping me get motivated! lol :o)

I was thinking about offering a prize (like a free dog walk or something) when I got to 100 likes or something, but it's still going up; I've had two more since I posted my entry! So I'll see how it goes for a few days and then think about doing that :o) Thanks for the idea though :o)

~Twinkle~ August 07, 2014

Glad the show was useful :) xx

Camdengirl August 07, 2014

Why not do the facebook advertising direct with facebook?

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ August 07, 2014

They contacted me and, to be honest, I thought they were Facebook, that's the impression they gave me. They were sneaky, but it seems to be working.

Deleted user August 07, 2014

I wondered that as well!

mutedexposure August 07, 2014

baby piggies are bacon in training.

Miso Honey August 09, 2014

Pet show looks awesome. I love the sheep racing!

Babe In Toyland August 11, 2014

What did mam and dad do with Meg? I don't like to ask. Did dad bury her in the garden?

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ August 12, 2014

Yes, in the corner opposite the conservatory, wrapped in her towel.

Lucretia August 12, 2014

It's really easy to set up your own Facebook ad campaign, you don't need to give someone else money for it. Just have a play around with the ad manager and see for yourself. Honestly!

I'm looking forward to Amy getting her comeuppance :) x

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ August 12, 2014

I didn't know that, every time I click on anything it asks me for money. Well I won't be renewing the one I have up at the moment; I've only had 22 new likes in six days but no new enquiries so it seems to be turning out to be a waste of money after all :o(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.