Out with the old, in with the new... in Open Book

  • Aug. 6, 2014, 10:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Clothes! I finally bought half of a new wardrobe today thanks to Kohls...I was never really a fan of Kohls before but, I have to say they have great deals and the clothes are perfect for a SAHMS "wardrobe."

I don't have any fashion sense at all, so I stick to the very basics...Jeans, camis, and hoodies. No point in nice clothing when I'm running around with a toddler and 2 dogs all day while cooking and cleaning.

So even though it's all very basic, I'm thrilled to be getting some clothes in my closet that will actually FIT. I love black, gray, and navy (the very basic clothing colors).

I always feel weird wearing color so I rarely do...I pretty much only buy color if I find a top I love in black or gray...If they have one in color I usually throw that in too (so yes I do order the same thing in different colors lol).

A fave said something to me a few weeks ago (or maybe over a month ago now) that really stuck in my head...I am probably a lot harder on myself because I have a closet full of clothes that just don't fit (size 00, 0, XS, etc)...I get depressed just looking at them...So they must GO!

No point in keeping them when chances are I really won't ever wear them again...Even if I did lose 15 lbs (which I doubt I will) I'd probably want to buy new clothes anyway (95% of my closet is 2.5+ years old).

It's time to purge. It's time to start feeling better again. I do plan on losing at least 5 lbs. so even if it happens my new clothes will still fit. I've even been wearing maternity clothes still, and that just makes me feel like complete shit about myself. I need to tuck those away and get them out of my view!

I got everything for $258.00 (yes that includes the shoes)...I still have a few more things to buy but, I'm mostly set.

I love the Sketchers go walks. Most comfortable shoes I've ever worn (even if they are a little goofy looking)...The look is finally starting to grow on me (I only wore converse before last year).


paradiseFOUND August 06, 2014

Wow good score! I'm struggling with clothes too... I want plain casual clothes and can't get them anywhere.. Everything is "trendy" and so not me. I wear plain tees and yoga pants allll day... My maternity wardrobe was the best clothes I've had in a while haha

Leslie Bruce August 06, 2014

Looks like a lot of really great things!!

ninakir88 August 06, 2014

cute.. i love kohls too. you really need to open their kohls charge.. you can get 30% on certain weeks and get 10 kohls cash for every 50 you spend!

Manda Melle August 07, 2014

Love the new clothes, especially those shoes! I haven't been to Kohl's in ages...perhaps I need to change that :)

Deleted user August 07, 2014

Kohls is where its at!!!

Small Town Girl August 07, 2014

Good for you! My Bff keeps telling me that I need to do this as well. BUUUUUT I just dont want to be this weight anymore! I still love some of my clothes and WANT to fit them again! I need to get serious about this weight loss, or I too need to do this. I havent bought new clothes in....shit idk. A LOOOOONG time!

illustrious August 07, 2014

You got a lot of stuff! New clothes always give me a boost, which is probably why I'm guilty of shopping so often. :)

Deleted user August 07, 2014

I still wear some of my maternity tank tops, they fit my fat belly so nice. Next year I will not be wearing them as I hope to have no use for them.

Glad you got some nice clothes. I like what you got. I'm big on colour, love vibrant shades but I also love blacks and greys too. Grey mostly, it pairs so nicely with other colours.

Camdengirl August 07, 2014

I bet you've not bought many clothes since giving birth though? If you were working in an office you would have definitely had some shopping trips and bought stuff for work/nights out/the odd lunchtime shopping trip, so actually I think you got a bargain workable wardrobe!

We do change shape when we have babies - that's why stuff doesn't fit as it once did and it does require an update!

~Mrs. O~ Camdengirl ⋅ August 08, 2014

It's true, I haven't bought much since giving birth...I had such a nice wardrobe full of expensive work clothes before I got pregnant and became a SAHM.

I think part of the reason I had such a tough time giving up my closet is because it's full of nice things (but I'm hoping another lady out there will reap the benefit and enjoy them)...I still have $100 pants with the tags on them which I'll probably just have to resort to giving away for free.

My body certainly has changed shaped...Even if I did lose 15 lbs., I still don't think I'd fit in the smallest of the small clothing I own because my hips and breasts are just straight up bigger.

MichelleyTX August 07, 2014

Nice clothes!!!! I can't wait to lose weight and get a new wardrobe!

It's Time For Me. August 07, 2014

Love all the new clothes!

dickson. August 07, 2014

Woohoo! I went to Kohl's when I was in Phoenix since they don't have them in Canada and it was pretty fantastic! Nice new haul.

Satine August 08, 2014

Nice! Good deals and great choices!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.