Belize :) in The Daily (2014)

  • Aug. 6, 2014, 1:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

so, I didn't make the time to write about my trip right when I got home, but I figure I should now! I have other stuff to write about as well, but figure that Belize should have it's own entry.

Caye Caulker Janine near the Split Possible the most beautiful place I have ever been. The water is crystal clear and incredibly blue. Really laid back time. Second day I went on a snorkeling trip with my sister. Sailed out the reefs and hung out with stingrays, nurse sharks, tropical fish, and manatees, which was pretty awesome. On the way back, the tour guides pulled out the rum punch and everyone got pretty drunk, haha. Rest of our week their was pretty laid back. Spent a lot of time swimming at an area called the Split where the two islands part. There is a dock there and jumping from it is the easiest way into the water. There is also a bar there, so we spent a lot of our week with our feet dangling over the water and a boozy drink in our hands. For a couple of days it got crazy stormy. One of those days we went to the split anyways. Janine and I went down to the Split after dinner, met some other travellers, had a few drinks and jumped off the dock in the rain. It was kind of cool because the music from the bar was so loud but the second you hit the water it was dead silent until you came back up. I did manage to slip on the dock though and get the most epic bruise on my thigh! Last day in Caye Caulker we got robbed, which was less than super fun. Janine, mom and I had been having dinner at a place called Wish Willy's- a really cool restaurant at the other side of the caye from us that is run out of this guy named Bernice's house. He cooks all the food himself and basically just asked us when we sat down if he coud make us what he wanted and then whipped up the most amazing food. On the way home, we were all riding our bikes back. My mom is really slow, because she is getting older, so Janine went ahead and I hung back with her. As we were approaching our guest house, Mom got scared of riding in the dark so we stopped our bikes, got off, and walked them. When we were almost at the gate, someone ran by from behind us, swipped by bag from the front basket, and ran off with it, along with my cellphone and the two sets of snorkel gear that were in it. Ugh. So much more to write, but I am going to come back and do a second edit because I have things to do right now :) Sorry for being such a terrible updater!


Mercurial Muse August 06, 2014

:) I was thinking the other day that I haven't seen an update from you in a while. It sounds like a great trip, even though you got robbed. I can't wait to read more!

theocean. August 07, 2014

The water looks so beautiful!

Nomad of the North August 08, 2014

Jealous...I really need a trip abroad...somwhere more exotic than North Carolina (though things got a little more foreign as we drove south)

softea Nomad of the North ⋅ August 09, 2014

Honestly I would recommend Belize like crazy. Might be my favourite place I've been. It's still relatively cheap. There's sooo much you can do- mayan ruins, jungle, hiking and treks, splunking, some of the best snorkeling and diving in the world, coral reefs. Culturally diverse- predominately Mayan and Garifuna. Super friendly people. I will definitely going back. There is sooo much I wanted to do but couldn't because my mom is getting older and has asthma and lost a lot of her lung capacity because of pnemonia, so I am probably going to try to go back with Liz once we are both working and can save money so I can do all the things I missed out on.

Miso Honey August 09, 2014

Awesome, I know 4 people who have gone to Belize and they all say it is a pretty rad time.

Good to hear from you again!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.