Woah - 06.08.14 in Your Face

  • Aug. 6, 2014, 2:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My GoFundMe page has been amazingly successful. I was mortified at the idea of posting it on my Facebook page, and letting people I haven't seen in years know that I am broke and asking for help for airfares. But, I am desperate, so I just did it.

And holy shit, guys, there's over $500 in there after about 8 hours. I have cried about 5 times today, after people I haven't spoken to in a long time have chipped in. My Heslop put in $300 on his own, which knocked the wind out of me.

This morning I went to the unemployment office, tail between legs, and asked if I might qualify for a payment. I am embarrassed about it, because I had a job. And I quit it of my own volition. But, I quit it because I thought I was about to move, and not about to get knocked about by the visa office.

I got my name in the system, and was given a bunch of passwords to help me fill out an online form. There was a line for the computers, but the assistant said that I could fill it out from a home computer if I didn't want to wait. I went home and did that, and they will call me tomorrow to interview about it. Mike's considered to not be earning much, so who knows. I might be lucky. I'd only want one or two payments, that would be plenty to get me by, and I am still working on selling my car. I borrowed money to put another six months of registration on it (it only had a month left) so hopefully that is the ticket to a sale.

Not much else going on. Dad just called, I asked about my crazy step-mother and told him that I care about her, despite our recent differences, and I just want her to be happy, and for him to be happy. He wanted to fob off the conversation, but I was able to say all that I wanted to say, and that has helped me settle it all in my mind.

http://www.gofundme.com/PutMeNextToMyHusband


Stephably August 06, 2014

Good deal. I still can't get my gofundme to generate ANY funds. But like I said...apparently I don't need electricity or gas or food. Cu that is what mine is for. blah. lamesauce. anyway good luck with the unemployment.

Canadian Lass August 06, 2014

$663!!!! OMG!!! YAAAAA!!!!!!!!! they take 10% but you will still get a great chunk!!! Congrats! im glad you did it. I could never have done it myself, that's why a friend of mine did it for me, and we are working on it... 6 more days!!!

AlexYourAlterEgo Canadian Lass ⋅ August 06, 2014

Yes, I sat and dwelled on it for a few hours before mustering the courage to hit facebook. I guess the final thoughts were that I shouldn't give a shit what other people think about me, and that it IS okay to ask for help when you need it.

Miso Honey August 09, 2014

I am glad it is working out well so far! I will be able to make my contribution shortly.

Just wondering, what is a Heslop?

AlexYourAlterEgo Miso Honey ⋅ August 09, 2014

A Heslop is your best male friend for 17 years and counting. He is generous and caring and genuine.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.