Day 3: Your Favorite Quote in About

  • Aug. 5, 2014, 11:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am not a huge "quote" (HAHAHAHA) person, but here are two that I like.

From Max Ehrmann's Desiderata of Happiness:

"... Be gentle with yourself. You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here. And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should."

A reminder that some things are not in your control and to relinquish some control to the faith that you are on your best path.

And from Phillip Pullman's Amber Spyglass:

"I will love you for ever, whatever happens. Till I die and after I die, and when I find my way out of the land of the dead I’ll drift about for ever, all my atoms, till I find you again… And when we do find each other again we’ll cling together so tight that nothing and no one’ll ever tear us apart. Every atom of me and every atom of you… We’ll live in birds and flowers and dragonflies and pine trees and in clouds and in those little specks of light you see floating in sunbeams… And when they use our atoms to make new lives, they won’t just be able to take one, they’ll have to take two, one of you and one of me, we’ll be joined so tight."

This one makes me cry every time I read it. His Dark Materials is one of my favorite trilogies ever, and my witness/best friend read this at our wedding. It's a little morbid for a wedding, but a lot beautiful.


MissMonkeykins August 06, 2014

I love this, it's totally my life mindset "And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should."

EddyOut MissMonkeykins ⋅ August 07, 2014

It's a good one!! I try to make it mine, I struggle SO much with change (change, Taurus, change...)

hills & valleys August 07, 2014

I really like that second quote - so beautiful.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.