Happy Earthday Daddy in Open Book

  • Aug. 5, 2014, 9:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today my Dad would have turned 63 years old...It blows me away that he didn't even live to see 60.

I read a quote the other day:

"Do not regret growing older. It is a privilege denied to many."

So true that is...Two weeks before the party I threw for my in-laws my MIL said "I don't even want to think about this birthday." I said...."Turning 60 is something you should be proud of...Think of all those that didn't make it that far." She agreed.

It kinda stings my Dad died so close to his birthday. Basically I'm an emotional mess from July 24th-August 5th every year.

Tomorrow is mine and Eric's 3rd wedding anniversary and I've barely even thought about it. I better at least get him a card.

Though I don't look forward to old age, I do look forward to spending time with my family in the future and hopefully I'll have a grand baby or two.

Anyway....Lots to catch up on, but heading down to the beach...A few of my Mommy friends feel "fat" (ughhh which sucks because I'm the heaviest one in the group and it totally hurts my feelings sometimes) and they want to throw the kids in strollers and go walk along the beach...As of now it's a beautiful foggy and cool morning and I know I NEED the walk. I'm sure it will be great!

Tonight is retro night at the boardwalk...Thinking about going down there but we'll see...Hopefully I'll get a chance to actually update, read, and note later on this afternoon.


AnotherDayinParadise August 05, 2014

Sorry your father died so young :( I know the pain all too well, I lost my dad in January only 2 days before his 52nd birthday.

ninakir88 August 05, 2014

Sorry about your dad :( Eva looks so much like you!

Small Town Girl August 05, 2014

That is a really good quote!

dickson. August 05, 2014

Ugh, so sad :(

I love that quote, it's so bang on.

Perpetually Plump August 05, 2014

My own dad died 13 days before his 50th bday. I think about how crappy that is far too frequently. That means I'd only have 15 years left on this planet if I died at the same age...

illustrious August 06, 2014

That is such a sweet picture. I'm so sorry you are having a hard time.

Deleted user August 06, 2014

I really like the quote. I get so tired of 20 somethings saying how old they are and treating age like it's some kind of disease, disrespectful assholes.

Starfish Baby August 06, 2014

I totally know what you mean about july and August. July was when my dad passed and aug is his birthday too. Weird!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.