more Charleston Trip pictures at last in shiny things

  • July 31, 2014, 11:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yeah, that certainly took long enough. Instead of posting a big long entry and then running out of time and/or patience to post more than a few pictures, I'm just going to post pictures. And I swear, SWEAR, I'm going to make more of an effort here. Shorter and more frequent entries. Ha.

Mostly we just walked around.

walking around the historic district

walking around the historic district

charleston at night

king street

queen street

the historic district

We drove to Rockville one afternoon - it's a teeny tiny place right on the water, maybe 15 miles from Charleston. It's full of huge oaks and Spanish moss.

rockville, sc

rockville, sc

Baker B under huge oaks-

rockville, sc

rockville, sc

We also went to Folly Beach -- THREE TIMES. We never go to Folly that many times. Every day we'd drive over there and have a Blue Moon or three at the oceanfront bar at the Tides hotel. The last day we finally walked to the lighthouse because it was sunny. It was a little dreary and rainy the first two days.

The oceanfront street had actually flooded the second day we were there- it had rained REALLY hard right before we got there. Oddly enough, we didn't get rained on the entire time, beyond a few drops here and there.

folly beach - at the Tides bar

Obligatory Under The Pier Picture:

folly beach - at the Tides bar

Sunny Day Beer At the Bar:

folly beach

View from the outside bar:

folly beach

The Morris Island Lighthouse:

folly beach

I looooove this lighthouse. It was built in 1876 and due to erosion is now standing alone out in the water.

folly beach

This part of the island is wonderful to walk on - it's never crowded (no swimming allowed due to the strong dangerous currents) so it's peaceful and gorgeous. (all these beach pictures are taken with my little powershot- I was too afraid of blowing sand to take the Brand New SLR)

folly beach

You can see the huge Ravenel Bridge that goes from Charleston to Mount Pleasant from this beach. We always stay at Mount Pleasant so we drive over this bridge a lot. You can walk over it too, but sadly we never did get around to it this trip.

folly beach

We walked around to the sound on the opposite side of the beach, and saw dolphins! I took a gazillion pictures and had maybe two with bits of fin. Dolphins are hard to get pictures of. They are often swimming around near the lighthouse, and even sometimes in the bay at the historical district in Charleston.

folly beach

The tide came in while we were walking, but we didn't get stranded. (There wasn't too much danger - you could walk along the edges behind the driftwood if you had to)

folly beach

Wow-- that's a lot of pictures. I'm ready to go back. It's FREEZING here. Okay, it's 66 outside right now so isn't exactly freezing, but it's not exactly July weather either. And our offices are like meatlockers-- I have had my heater on all week. I have my heater on right now. It's kind of depressing. Summer needs to get back here right now - it's short enough in this place as it is.


Deleted user July 31, 2014

Oh, great pictures! I love Charleston. And Blue Moon; next time you're there, try Moon River (brewed just to the south), it's even better.

edna million Deleted user ⋅ August 01, 2014

OOooOoo, thanks! I will!

Eriu July 31, 2014

The pictures made my day! I'm concerned about my pets' health, dealing with budgets and the incompetence of management. It felt good to see Charleston! Besides, your pictures are always so good! When we were there last year we stayed at Folly Beach and one of Free Spirit's friends took me to Morris Island. I saw four dolphins but never got a picture of any! A Folly Beach shot is my screen background.

edna million Eriu ⋅ August 01, 2014

I looooove Folly -- best beach ever. There is a guy that takes people on boat rides around the lighthouse to see the dolphins - that would be amazing. And I think at times you can actually go to the lighthouse with the conservation people. Another thing I'd love to do. But just hanging out on the beach gazing at it is heaven-

Lyn July 31, 2014

Loved our trip to Charleston!

Stay warm.

edna million Lyn ⋅ August 01, 2014

Brrrrrrrr...... still chilly outside, still having to turn on the heat in the offices.... WHERE IS SUMMER????

noko July 31, 2014

Dolphins! Wonderful. And no flooding while you were there. Excellent! I bet the car was so relieved. :)

edna million noko ⋅ August 01, 2014

It certainly was! They apparently had terrible flooding today at Folly according to FB. Yikes.

Ragdolls August 01, 2014

Enjoyed all the photos! What a lovely time you had.

pb reader August 02, 2014

It's great to see your pictures. Almost, but not quite as good as being there. I love beaches.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.