Blindfolds, Boat Cruises, & Buenos Aires in Magical Realism

  • July 30, 2014, 3:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, I haven't written in one million years. Past few weeks were mostly the usual - work, HIIT classes, yoga, food, you know. We did go to this one "Sensory Gallery" party where we were blindfolded, separated at the lobby, then taken in an elevator to various floors to touch/hear/smell/taste different experiences/food/cocktails while blindfolded. It was super trippy. One of the cocktails contained Van Gogh Peanut Butter & Jelly vodka. Peanut butter & Jelly vodka! I did not even know such a thing existed. Remember when the only vodka flavors were 1) vodka, 2) peppar, 3) citron? Then came kurant, mandarin, then vanilla and after that everything just went crazy!

The event was pretty wild - we did do a dining in the dark dinner for Valentine's Day a few years ago, but it was much more staid/predictable and pretty much nothing like this. Definitely out of my comfort zone, but I guess that's good. After the blindfolds were taken off, we ended up in a room with our group and drank champagne together. It was funny to interact with people after first being introduced to them and getting to know the group sight unseen. One of the later groups came through while we were sipping/chatting and included a completely shirtless guy with lipstick on his face, hanging on for dear life to the person in front of him. We were all like, "What happened to THAT guy?!" When his group came in we asked him and his guide, and no one would tell us. Hahahahahaha! After that A and I left, had a drink at our favorite random/non-upscale rooftop bar, then went out for korean bbq at Pocha 32. It's basically an upstairs cafeteria decorated with nets filled with sake bottle tops and a flurry of napkins that people have doodled and/or written on, but the food is good and it's a lot of fun. We had dinner but did not do the soju filled watermelon, as it was already well past 1am. On a Tuesday.

Other happenings - NY Harbor boat cruise with my interns, High Line park walk with my friend N from Space Camp this past weekend, followed by ridiculous procrastination, followed by my usual method of packing right before I'm due to leave for a flight. Managed to cram in extremely weird (even for me) mix of snowboots, snowpants/warm clothing, business casual, swim stuff, and even a formal gown, plus related accessories, toiletries, laptop, etc. I can't believe it all fit in carry-on luggage.

A saw me off to the airport, I boarded the plane to Buenos Aires shortly after. We hung out on the runway for a while, then there was an announcement that we needed to make a big detour off the original course due to weather, so we went back to the gate to pick up additional fuel for the longer voyage. After that we took off, we had dinner, I watched Divergent, then went to sleep. With the longer route and delay, we got in about 3 hours later than anticipated. There was an HSBC at the airport so I took pesos out there, then took a cab to my hotel in Palermo Soho. I was tired but not as zonked as I probably should have been. Did work, had a really nice cup of tea (rooibos, vanilla, rose petals, rosehips, and lavendar) and a slice of lemon poppy seed cake. Did some yoga from youtube:

(I liked this one, instructor was very clear and very nice, basic vinyasa flow) and pushups, showered, blowdried, went to sleep.

My friend Luisa was due to get in on an early flight, so I got up just before 7am, got ready, and met her for breakfast. It was very nice - scrambled eggs, bread, croissants, fruit, juice, and coffee. She was still on Finland time and didn't want to nap, so we went out for a walk from around 9am until 2pm. Area is so cute - Palermo Soho was my favorite neighborhood last time we were in BA many years ago, so I wanted to stay here until we check in to the group hotel on Friday. Had lunch out on the rooftop terrace, and it was surprisingly warm/sunny here (considering it's winter.) Did work on the roof and then in the solarium, and are now gearing up for a snack and a glass of wine before heading out to our planned dinner of RED MEAT and RED WINE.

alt text


Leslie Bruce July 30, 2014

PB&J vodka? Crazy! Although, I have a bottle of Bakon vodka in my cupboard to make bloody marys with...

banker chick July 30, 2014

So jealous of all your travels. :)

nightborn July 30, 2014

So did you try the Peanut butter & Jelly vodka?? Any good?

In DC you pretty much have to leave the city and head the burbs to get good korean bbq and soju - all the Korean places in the city are too Americanized/trendy. I don't need my bulgogi and short ribs infused with anything, thanks!

Are you still in Buenos Aires? It's definitely on my list of places to visit. My parents are thinking of doing a trip there next year, so they will probably beat me to it, as usual. :)

LotusButterfly July 30, 2014

You look fantastic!!! I am so jealous- I always have wanted to go to Argentina, maybe someday! I want to hear all about the meat omg omg omg. The little cavewoman in me is having a party just thinking about your meal lol

Glad to heard u're doing more than well!!

Bluesea July 30, 2014

No way I could do the sensory experience. I have issues putting my hands in places I can't see.

Ginger Snap July 30, 2014

All of this sounds so...spectacular!
Drinking while blindfolded seems completely disorienting. Still, I'd do it! :)

Caty Shark July 30, 2014

Thanks for the link to the yoga workout. I want to do something today but nothing too jumpy.

More about BA pls!

LeftisRight July 30, 2014

Such a fun life you lead! Have fun!

~Mrs. O~ July 30, 2014

I've tried many flavored vodkas back in college (hell my Grandpa would make his own cherry vodka when I was a kid/teen)...Never heard of PB&J though and don't think I could stomach that.

Happy to hear your life is amazing as always! I love reading about your travels. and all the neat little parties/galleries/tastings/etc you go to.

kmh. July 30, 2014

Very cool photo :) PB&J vodka, that's so crazy! That blindfolded experience sounds like a lot of fun. Have loads of fun!

sarahbaby. July 30, 2014

I can't wait to hear all about Argentina! Now I have Evita songs running through my head..."Don't cry for me Argentina!"

You look wonderful, as per.

QueSeraSera July 30, 2014

well i just learned something thanks to you! had no idea buenos aires this time of year was winter so i looked it up! thanks for the lesson. you look fabulous as always and this place you are at (now or was there) sounds intriguing. what you did with the carry on bag traveling out of the country is something i had been considering the next time i travel overseas. let me know how it was :) i was thinking about "rolling" and compressing everything. and maybe 2 business casuals and jeans but a few tops, dress pants or a skirt plus the basics. are you buying souvenirs or no? last time it was a nightmare trying to fed ex overseas but i may do it again if i need to buy stuff. also if you dont mind me asking do you speak spanish a bit or no?

pb&j vodka? wow... you know i never ever liked pb&j sandwiches i wonder how the vodka would taste. lol did you like the drink or it was too sweet. that sensory gallery sounds very very interesting also.

i love your entries! always vibrant. safe travels home but enjoy your time in BA!

AlmostGenuine July 30, 2014

Ahhhh so much fun! Enjoy the wine!

kiss kitty bang! August 03, 2014

I'm curious about the soju-filled watermelon - how would you eat/drink that, exactly? And how did you like Divergent? I keep meaning to watch but keep putting it off in favour of movies made six decades earlier haha.

And you look ridiculously stylish, as usual. Love those glasses!

Miso Honey August 03, 2014

Van Gogh makes some awesome vodkas. The espresso one is my fave.

You look great! Love the scarf!

Deleted user August 05, 2014

yes. black outfits forever.

aglow August 14, 2014

CanNOT get over how badly I want to find and attend a sensory gallery party now. My dismay over living in a part of the country where THAT AIN'T HAPPENIN' is slowly being taken over by a part of me going, but what if I just MAKE IT HAPPEN?

dancerd September 18, 2014

:)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.