"I MISS TRAVELLING ... " in SCATTERED THOUGHTS AND BUSY SCHEDULES

  • April 28, 2023, 9:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, so last March was the very first time I attended a rock concert after the Covid-19 pandemic. (I LOVE HOOBASTANK!) I realised just how much I missed doing a lot of outdoor things I used to frequent.
Well, that includes travelling. I’m not talking about the one I did in December 2022. That was an office outing. I’m talking about my own plan, my destination, and my own itinerary. I know I haven’t done much of those lately and for real. I haven’t got that many solo travelling experiences, unlike some people I know.
My most memorable travelling experiences are with someone I know – and I’m trying hard not to think of him now. We’re still not on speaking terms. It’s a long story.
I’ve been contemplating going back to Bali sometime this October for a poetry slam event. However, I’m not sure of the odds. The money is still the issue here.
The second is the recent situation there. I’m not going to lie, there have been many bad foreigners thrashing around and doing awful things as tourists – like disrespecting their sacred grounds or sites and seeking illegal work. Niluh Djelantik is one of the most outspoken public figures going against them. I agree with her after I’ve seen too much live footage as evidence online. Some of these clowns really went the extra mile … just for likes on their social media pages.
And the local government officials? Don’t ask. These days, you ought to make anything go viral in order to be taken more seriously.
On Instagram, I support Mbok Niluh. Imagine having guests over to your house and they start thrashing about there – basically disrespecting you. Would you like that?
It has got to the point where some random strangers started spamming my comment box by mentioning some random fake accounts which discredit her (or should I say, pathetically try to). As usual, I simply report and block them.
Hopefully, if I ever get to Bali this year, I’ll be perfectly safe.
R.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.