Work drama, Altfest drama, Ebola drama, Insurance drama. Drama llama in Diary

  • July 30, 2014, 8:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh man it's getting hilarious here at work. I can say it's hilarious because I'm leaving, but if I was staying I'd be very worried and pissed off. As our payroll lady is leaving, our accounts payable lady was getting the impression that they were going to expect her to do both jobs. This is actually impossible; they've already had me helping out accounts payable the last two weeks because they can't keep up with the workload. So she's decided to leave as well before it all kicks off. And as I'm leaving, I won't be here to help either. The whole accounts department is falling apart!

And I don't know what Amy thinks she's playing at. She's taking the piss more and more. Not only is she spending most of her time gossiping with Fiona in the HR office, they've now taken to disappearing off to go on shopping trips! They just got up and walked out without telling me what was happening. I asked the other HR lady and she said they've just nipped to the shops; well thanks for telling me, seeing as though I'm now in the office on my own and my lunch break is coming up. I had my lunch break anyway, and left the office empty; not my problem! Amy came back just in time to go for her own lunch break. Oh yes, the shopping trip was extra!

I was a bit of a bitch and checked the Time and Attendance software to see that she hadn't clocked out when she went out, so I kindly fixed that and added the times she went in and out. Well, if there's a fire drill while she's out, we would all be looking for her in the building, thinking she's burning to death. Seeing as though she didn't clock out or even tell me, as the fire warden, that she was going out. Just doing my duty! ;o)


There are rumours flying about all over the place that Altfest is cancelled. Loads of bands are announcing that they've had emails to tell them not to turn up, but the festival organisers themselves have been keeping their mouths firmly shut. It's ridiculous! Luckily for me, all I've paid for is a new airbed, but some people are coming from Canada and Australia and have booked flights and hotels and things. My sister bought the tickets in January and I booked the time off work seven months ago. We were looking forward to spending some festival time together, but now we don't even know if it's going ahead or not and it's in two weeks time.

Well, I'm still going to keep the time off work as I have to use it up before I leave anyway. Maybe me and Sonja could do something else, or I'll spend the time stocking up on sundries and advertising my new business. I can go around the vets and pet shops in the area to see if they'll let me leave flyers. Register with HMRC, try and get some appointments with customers.


That's if I'm still alive after the threatened ebola breakout! Ebola has always been my favourite virus (OK I'm weird!) because it's so aggressive, quick to kill and spreads so easily; I just admire it! Though I'm sure I wouldn't be so admiring if it was inside me, turning my organs to liquid. It's all a bit scary.
I just renewed my car insurance and was very pleased to get a lower price than last year again. Three years ago it was over £1,000 and now it's under £500. My current provider decided to INCREASE my renewal price by £150, even though I have an extra year no claims and my mileage is going to be about halved when I start my new job (I have an enormous commute at the moment.) Of course I asked them to lower it but they couldn't, so I went with the one that's £250 less. I have no idea how they work out their prices, it's insane.

(Please, don't offer me any advice on how to lower it, I already know all the tricks and have already paid for it. I posted this on Facebook and people seem to think it means "Please tell me where you got your insurance from and how much you paid for it." They think they're helping which I appreciate, but what works for them isn't going to work for everyone!)

That was all written very quickly as it spilled out of my brain so I apologise for the random stream of consciousness.

21 working days remaining


Babe In Toyland July 30, 2014

Aww, that was nice of you to remember to clock Amy in and out! ;)

~Twinkle~ July 30, 2014

Car insurance is weird, I don't understand how they work it out! Particularly as they all vary so much! Can't believe Amy gets away with the things she does!

Bomb Shell ~Twinkle~ ⋅ July 30, 2014

Our boss works in London and we're lucky if we see her once a month, so there's no one here to keep an eye on us.

Babe In Toyland July 30, 2014

You'll have to ask John's brother, Daniel, Hannah! His job is to study and analyse the stats that insurance companies use.

Deleted user July 30, 2014

Hahaha way to go clocking her out!!! I laughed out loud :P

Ebola! !!! For craps sake... dont catch it!!!

Lucretia August 01, 2014

We learned that, never take the renewal quote! I had an accident last year and they doubled my insurance even though it wasn't my fault. So we went with a different co. and got it down to under £600 for the two of us.

Nice one on clocking out Amy, screw her! If I were you I'd keep it up and more. You've not long to go now :) x

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ August 01, 2014

They're just thieving bastards. They know that people are lazy and will just accept the renewal quote so they jack it up to whatever they fancy.

Haha, don't worry I am, I can't wait! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.