The language survey. in summer 2014 is a creepin' in.

  • July 29, 2014, 2:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

1: Your native language. English

2: Which languages you know. English, Spanish and I understand some French and German

3: Which languages you are learning, or want to learn. I've been learning Castilian Spanish for over ten years, I'm also interested in learning Catalan.

4: Does anyone in your family speak a language that you don't? my mum's degree was in German which she was very good at, my dad and older sister are very good at French

5: Your favourite language to listen to. Blimey, do I have to choose?! I love eastern European languages; Russian, polish, Estonian etc... They sound so alien and so intriguing, and I never try to understand them, I just let the sound wash over me. I have a Polish friend who chats away to her kids in Polish, then turns to speak to me in English. Of course, I have asked her how to say simple greetings so that I can say 'hi' to her 3 year old son.

6: Your least favourite language to listen to. seriously? I have to answer English. But badly spoken English, although I don't mean badly spoken by foreigners but badly spoken by it's native speakers. I am that mother who repeats back to my kids what they've said while using the correct tense or conjugation. Not in a 'you got it wrong' way though e.g. if Lila says 'I writ a story' I will say 'you've written a story? Wow, can I read it?'

7:Your favourite word in your native language.there's only one answer that I can give. It's 'sausage'! It had such a lovely feel to it! A round, scrummy feel in my mouth and sound that it makes.

8:Your favourite word in your second language(if you know one).estadounidense. It means a person from the United States. Again, I love the way it feels in my mouth and it took a lot of practice to be able to say! I also love susurro which means whisper. It's do beautifully onomatapeic (sp?!).

9:Your favourite word in a language you don't really speak. kalli kalli. It's an Estonian way of saying 'hugs'. My Estonian friend and I always sign our letters, cards and emails with kalli kalli.

10:A list of your favourite words in any language. Schadenfruede, desafortunadamente, aluminium, Boris, trabajaba. As you can tell I have a very sensory love for language, these all feel lovely to say!

11:A song you like in a language other than English.

http://m.youtube.com/?#/watch?v=yyggC2X96To

I apologise in advance for the translation!

The earth has a fever, It needs medicine and a little love, To cure the pain that it has.

The earth has a fever, trembles, cries. It hurts the most painful pain, And it thinks that you no longer want it.

And it's as though there's no respect for the fresh air,

And it's as though there's no respect for birds,

And it's as though there's no respect for our brothers,

And it's as though there's no respect for those without earth,

And it's as though there's no respect for little children,

And it's as though there's no respect for the mother's who search for their children,

And it's as though there's no respect and they're dying if hunger,

And it's as though there's no respect for the drowning air,

And it's as though there's no respect, for today more mothers cry,

And it's as though there's no respect, for the seas die of shame,

And it's as though there's no respect for the voices of the village,

And it's as though there's respect from the governments,

And it's as though there's no respect for having less cars,

And it's as though there's no respect and some believe themselves to be God.

12:If you could pick one language to learn automatically without having to work for it, which language would you choose? Russian, it's always fascinated me.

13:Have you ever seen a whole movie in a language you don't understand? yes, lots. I'm a big fan of subtitles over dubbing because dubbing often changes tone and meaning to films. My favourite is My Neighbour Totoro

14:A language you like, but wouldn't put the effort into learning. Goodness me, I don't know!! Japanese, I guess, although I did learn some twenty or so years ago - including the script! Talaia has the book I used to learn and loves reading it.

15:Write a short introduction of yourself in a language other than English.

Hola, me llamo Kate. Soy, originalmente, de Kenya pero crecía en el norte de Inglaterra. Viajaba por una ruta extraña para vivir en el sur oeste de Inglaterra! Tengo muchas emociones profundas sobre el estado de nuestra planta y todo que nos humanas hemos hecho para destruir nuestro hogar. Espero que mi familia y yo vivamos en un mundo diferente, uno en que sólo hay personas sin crueldad, sin la necesidad para arruinar la tierra sólo para que dimos electricidad hasta nuestros móviles o portátiles sólo para leer Facebook o otra cosa sin importancia. Pero, de todos modos, todavía sur una mujer optimista (¡Claro!) Y, cuando tenga sueños, siempre luche para conseguirlos. Soy un parte de una familia grande y me encanta que siempre hay un hermano o hermana por otra lado del teléfono si los quiero hablar sobre una tema importante o para charlar.

Y eso es todo!


Deleted user July 29, 2014

Aww :) Creo que ya he dicho esto a centenas de personas en Prosebox, pero me encanta este cuestionario y todas las diferentes respuestas! :) Tendría que haber más asi!

Deleted user July 29, 2014

You like the way certain words feel in your mouth, that is awesome

~Twinkle~ July 30, 2014

I like how words sound in my mouth too :) x

thesunnyabyss July 30, 2014

very cool!!

edna million August 01, 2014

What an interesting survey! I worked for several years in a few different Chinese restaurants when I was just out of college, and I loved hearing all the languages. There were of course lots of people who were Chinese, although from different parts of China, and then lots of kitchen workers who were from Central America. It was like the United Nations. I especially remember one couple-- the woman was from Malaysia and I think her husband was from ....Thailand?? They didn't speak each other's language and used French and English to communicate.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.