Why is 'real food' so darned expensive? in Another Open Diary refugee

  • July 28, 2014, 5:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

John took me to Winn-Dixie this morning to get diabetic-friendly groceries... I got a ton of frozen vegetables (literally, they have several varieties in five pound bags for six bucks each - I've always thought they're too big but since we're off starch we need a lot more other veggies...), chicken thighs, two beef roasts for $3 a pound (actually $6 which is horrenous but they were BOGO), cheese, lunchmeat, some assorted sugar-free stuff for John, fresh vegetables, natural peanut butter and hummus, and ginger ale - sugar-free for John and regular for me. I had to stop shopping because I'd filled the scooter cart to the brim and it was starting to overload so the scooter wanted to stall! Total cost? $135! (it was nearly $200 before she scanned my Winn-Dixie card...) And I haven't even got everything yet because there's stuff that I plain forgot and a few things we want that they don't carry... John says it's okay because we have to do a total pantry restock but I was horrified at the cost. I hope this food lasts us a few weeks! I packed all our carbohydrates into boxes and gave them to our neighbour - he volunteers at a feeding program so he'll take our stuff in. I told him to help himself to anything he wants himself, but he's also diabetic and he just had a coronary bypass so he's supposed to be on the same sort of diet we are! But his daughter isn't...


Deleted user July 28, 2014

I feel ya! I hate that the good stuff is so expensive and the junky stuff is so cheap. :(

Everything Good Rebecca July 28, 2014

I've given away our food staples when I've redone our eating plan before and it feels so wasteful until realizing the recipients may have been hungry, themselves. I'm hoping your purchases will last more than a week, and I'm betting they will. The big packages of frozen veg will go further than it probably seems, right? And the meats will go pretty far too, I'm guessing. It hurts to make the transition, but here's hoping you both notice good results pretty quickly! Then it'll be worth it and before you know it the real foods will be cheaper because you'll be skipping anything processed. ((hugs))

Ditch Witch July 28, 2014

I am not a diabetic but I eat like a diabetic..and it is more expensive (though it gets better as you get used to what you tend to eat..then you can watch for sales..it helps a bit)..but I always try to remember that its cheaper than a hospital stay. That helps me keep my sanity when my groceries for the week are 3x as expensive as my husband's lol

CritterCrazy July 30, 2014

Eating clean IS really expensive :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.