Revisions! in Site Updates

  • July 28, 2014, 4:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

WOOT!

So I added this cool feature that a few people wanted that allows you to revise (I use the word revised since I'm already tracking Last Updated) your entries, and mark them as revisions so that people who have you bookmarked will see the changes. Here's how it works:

You edit an entry you have already published (not a draft). You make any changes and updates you want. There's now a checkbox to Mark as revised. Check that before saving.

What it will do:

It will remove the Read flag from anyone who has you bookmarked, as well as bump you up to the top of their Unread list. It will also add a "Revised" label so you don't have to add any update message to your title to let people know it's a revision. The system handles that.

Since you have to check the box to make this happen, normal edits (fixing typos, etc) won't automatically trigger this. You can still go back and proofread your old entries as much as you want and none of your bookmarks have to know about it unless you want them to.

Keep in mind that this only bumps you for people who have you bookmarked. It won't show up in the latest members entries since that is still based off of the original published date.

A couple of other minor things:

  • I think I fixed the backdating so it will consistently set the time to midnight (of your local time) of the date you choose. It was a little weird before due to time zone stuff.
  • Since there's now potentially a revised date printed at the top of entries, I changed the published date at the top to use the actual date rather than something like "four minutes ago" (this causes some people grief so I thought I would experiment a little). It will still show relative time intervals on latest and bookmark lists).

Make sure you have your time zone set correctly under Settings to get this to show up correctly for you.

And that's all I have for now. Move to the groove.


NeonLady July 28, 2014

Awesome! Thank you!

banker chick July 28, 2014

Love this!! Great feature!!

One Angry Dwarf July 28, 2014

Dude, nice! I'm super jazzed about this.

crystal butterfly July 28, 2014

Did you know that woot is not a word accepted by Words with Friends. They need to update their vocabulary.

simple mind crystal butterfly ⋅ July 28, 2014

Definitely, I use that word with friends all the time.

Caty Shark simple mind ⋅ July 29, 2014

This ^ is awesome.

perfunctory July 28, 2014

Excellent feature!

Deleted user July 28, 2014

Thank you!! :)

Deleted user July 28, 2014

Thanks for making these helpful changes!

Deleted user July 28, 2014

Thanks for the new feature. It should really help.

auburn_girl July 28, 2014

This, right here, is why you have a community and a following and people that love this place. Thank you so much for listening to what people want, implementing it, and making it fluid and intuitive to use!

Deleted user auburn_girl ⋅ July 28, 2014

+1

simple mind auburn_girl ⋅ July 28, 2014

Awwww thanks!

Leanne 🌈 July 28, 2014

Thanks.

Nin July 28, 2014

Sounds like an awesome plan, Stan....this is if your name is Stan. Otherwise, good job, Bob....this could go on all day.

simple mind Nin ⋅ July 28, 2014

Well, if you make it to "You're the man, Dan", you can stop on that one. :-)

I need tea. July 28, 2014

Great thanks xx

MrsJess July 28, 2014

This is great!! Hurrah!!

Flame is Love July 28, 2014

Thank you! I hated the "1 hour ago." Yes, but at what time? Is that their time or my time?

simple mind Flame is Love ⋅ July 28, 2014

Your time.

Life Is For Living July 28, 2014

Huzzah! Thanks so much, Sir!

Everything Good Rebecca July 28, 2014

I love it, especially since I'm guilty of after-publishing edits but do not want to have these show up constantly on people's feeds. Thank you so much!

TellTaleHeart July 28, 2014

Niiiiiice!

Ophidia July 28, 2014

You are so awesome! Thank you!!

AnOrangeZebra July 28, 2014

(hits the like button)

Lepetit pumpkinesque July 28, 2014

Cool!

Stephably July 28, 2014

That's awesome! Thanks.

Jeanine July 28, 2014

Thaaaaaaaaaank you!

colojojo July 28, 2014

awesome!

sassafras July 28, 2014

YESSSSS! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!

LivingWaterCreek July 28, 2014

Sweet. And I like your new icon, too.

Jigger July 29, 2014

Dude. You. YOU.

Etoile Filante Jigger ⋅ July 29, 2014

Dude, you indeed. THIS IS THE EFFING NUTS MAAAAN! xXx

=bernard= July 29, 2014

I'm so not worthy, pretty soon the entries will write themselves. Thank you.

Caty Shark July 29, 2014

Yes, this be a good 'un. Thanks be.

moongate July 29, 2014

That is awesome! Thank you!

james ensor July 29, 2014

Very cool. Thanks, chief.

Loki July 29, 2014

  • I am not quite sure I understand this, but coolio! =]
Loki July 29, 2014

  • no wait. . .I think I get it.
Indigo July 29, 2014

I'm not on here as much as I would like... but I am signed up for an Advanced Creative Writing class starting Aug 25th at my University, so I'm hoping that I'll be a regular on here again. Thank you for making the changes and updating things :)

Garnys July 29, 2014

Holy balls. I am sure a LOT of work went into such a seemingly little thing (and one that honestly, I wouldn't have thought to ask for), but for what it's worth, this is REALLY flipping cool, and we thank you so much!

Deleted user July 30, 2014

Really really awesome !!

~ Honesty ~ July 31, 2014

Just curious,would there be a way to make searching through site users a little easier? If we had a location search of some sort or more options in general when it comes to browsing users it would be very handy.

Deleted user July 31, 2014

Feedback

I noticed that the ads on the diary pages are not having consistent behavior. The ad on top and bottom opens in the same window as the diary page. The ad on the left side opens in a new window. It will be useful if all of them opens on a new window. It helps you make some revenue and helps us not navigating away from the current page.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ July 31, 2014

My control over that is limited. I don't actually generate the ad code (including the link), the ad servers do that.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ August 01, 2014

If I understand it correctly, you cannot set the target window for the top ad link to a new window. Is that correct?

ElvenAssassin August 01, 2014

THANK-YOU.

Reading_Blankie 📚 August 03, 2014

Hey, this is totally rad! (Yeah, I said it. 80's child here) I've been poking around the website in general and I love the changes. :D Let's give the.... leader guy... a cookie!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.