The Poofy Dress in The Story

  • Oct. 21, 2013, 1:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I spent the weekend working at the pageant. Yesterday I was put in charge of 87 LITTLE girls. I mean they were ages 7-9...but apparently we call that age group "Jr. Pre-teens" now. They came in for personal three minute interviews which I think may have been completely pointless/just to scare the shit out of them and make them so nervous they almost cry. They picked "Miss Congeniality" based on peer votes! What the fuck! So the girls with no friends in the pageant don't have a chance and the cliquey girls win. Bogus. There was a three way tie for that so we had to just pick one.

Then today I spent my working hours trying to keep all 176 contestants in order. (and their moms) I had to line them up in number order (they each had a number) which the little girls weren't too bad at doing but the TEENS thought it was the most confusing fucking thing they had ever done.

I wanted so badly to take a picture of this one little girl's dress but I never got around to it/thought it might be kind of creepy to ask. It was so outrageous though the poof on the bottom was HUGE. It was like...

Ok imagine that but on a tiny 8 year old. She couldn't sit down and she could barely walk. It was purple and white tutu material. It wasn't a particularly pretty dress, but I tend to like outrageous costumey type shit, so I appreciated it, and for christs sake it was APPROPRIATE. Some of them were a little questionable.

Anyway, it wound up being pretty fun in the end. I didn't get to see who won since I booked it the fuck out of there as soon as I could but I kind of wonder who did.

What surprised me the most was how nice the girls were to each other. Where were all these nice kids when I was growing up? But then again, I remember that when I was in dance. Everyone was nice to each other because it wasn't school. School was the only place where barely anyone got along with each other and someone was always teasing someone else.

Of course there was still screaming and tripping and falling and someone's always gotta get hurt and start bleeding.

I'm going back to New York in a couple of weeks, for my birthday. I can't wait...they always light the Rock Center Christmas Tree on my birthday...

I'm loving the new dark theme by the way. Now if only all the blue would turn to purple or pink or something nice like that.

~ LB


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.