Chillifields in Diary

  • July 28, 2014, 8:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Saturday was Chillifields! There were only about 20-30 people there and, as we were performing quite early on, the crowd was quite subdued so I felt a bit out of place. We sang some songs that people would have known and I was trying to get them to sing along, but they were more interested in chatting to each other instead. We did a good set, though, and the Florence song I was terrified of singing and was still messing up just a couple of days before? Everyone said that was our best one! Weird how that turned out.

I was going to upload the video onto YouTube but my computer can't find the files on the memory card for some reason. It plays fine when I plug the camcorder into the TV so I'm not sure what's going on there.

There was also the burger competition. There was me, plus two other entrants. Jay was saying a tuna burger is boring and no one would want to eat that. But when one of the judges put a piece in her mouth, her face lit up, her eyes widened and she immediately told the other judges to have a piece. A couple of people out of the audience went up to try it and one told me "That's the most amazing thing I've ever eaten. :-D

So when he announced the winners... I came in first place! So no one wants to eat a tuna burger, do they? Not bad for someone who hates cooking :-D There was no prize, just a high five from the judges and the satisfaction of being the best ;o)

Jay did help me with the flavouring though. I made the bulk of it and he suggested to add a bit of garlic, salt, sugar and soy sauce, all of which really helped. How exciting!

Here are a few photos of us looking gorgeous.

This is Jay's cousin Adam during his DJ set. His DJ name used to be Dexter by Design, but this year he decided to become Chantelle by Choice for some reason...

We rock at selfies.

L-R Adam's friend Barney, Matt, me, Jay and Adam.

We then proceeded to get really drunk on the 7% ABV cider that the organiser had bought as payment for playing. Which turned out to be a mistake as, after only having about five hours' sleep, I had to get up early on Sunday to go and walk the dog I volunteer for with The Cinnamon Trust, and then drive over for two roller derby games. Thankfully I wasn't skating, I think I might have died from the hangover. But I had to stand up for two hours and time the penalties (30 seconds in the box for a penalty) and then, for the second game, I was score tracking. Which is a lot more confusing than it sounds, especially when I've never done it before and I was concentrating so much on not falling asleep and not being sick....nice.

It was a fun time though and I'm learning more about the game all the time.

When I got home I went to bed for a couple of hours then just lazed around being pathetic. The house is a complete tip after the weekend so I'll need to tidy that up tonight.

Oh I've started my Christmas shopping! It might seem like I'm super duper organised but I just saw some things that I thought people might like, so I bought them. I'll probably still be rushing about on Christmas eve, trying to get everything finished.

22 working days remaining


Deleted user July 28, 2014

I'm impressed by your level of organisation!

puffin July 28, 2014

Cider can be so wicked haha x

mutedexposure July 29, 2014

congrats on the win!

~Twinkle~ July 29, 2014

Brilliant work on the tuna burgers! X

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.