Clutch, round 2 in A Life Uncommon

  • July 28, 2014, 9:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Two years ago Jack and I went to a concert at the LC pavilion in Columbus; Clutch and Flogging Molly (and some other people, honestly I can't recall....oh, alcohol..) were amazing and my first real taste of a concert. I didn't really get into the pit that time, just stayed on the edges with Jack and Corey. The feel of the pit during Flogging Molly was electric, and awesome.

Saturday we went back to the same venue for a concert hosted by a radio station that Jack listens to always, featuring 6 bands including Starset, Clutch, Bobaflex, and All That Remains. They were all cool in their own rights.

Starset is different and new, I have only heard them a few times. THey did play the song that's pretty popular right now (My Demons). I saw them hanging around after the concert but chickened out saying hi. So now I obviously need to go back, yeah? Yeah.

Bobaflex.........I don't really have an opinion on. They aren't the Bobaflex I've listened to, I can say that for sure. The crowd still enjoyed it. I had a rush of anxiety when they played, because the pit was going a little nuts. Jack and his (PTSD fresh outta the army) cousin were down there, and Tom was pretty drunk pretty early on so it was all I could do to push back the panic.

Scott was there too! And he actually kind of helped me stay grounded and centered, telling me to take it as a warning. Took some effort, let me just say that. He ended up not getting fucked up in the pit, despite disappearing down there a few times. Instead we just completely lost him after the concert, thanks to a dead phone. Found him by the car, that's winning.

alt text

post-rain, with another cousin of Jack's (does anyone recall me discussing his hottie cousin? this is him!)

alt text

All That Remains got the crowd roaring, and then Clutch came out and played the longest/hardest. It rained off and on all afternoon, but honestly none of us cared. The atmosphere was awesome and amazing. The smoking helped. Hahah.

Clutch started, and Jack asked if I wanted to go to the pit this time. I agreed. Suddenly I was in the middle of a trio of men (Justin, Scott, Jack) being pushed farther and farther in until... alt text

BAM, feet from the stage. The roar and motion of the pit is incredible. Watching my friends practically vibrate with excitement, and even the safety of having a wall of guys encircle me when things got rough, it was just so awesome. There are tons of videos I make cameos in (usually looking surprised/confused/um...altered...) on my facebook page, if anyone cares.

Clutch played tons of good songs (they played for nearly 2 hours altogether, counting the encore). They even played Electric Worry live, which is a rare occurrence (and something I had been praying would happen!). It was almost magic, they left the stage but then returned for their encore. Meanwhile Jack, Scott and I were to the left of the stage getting food and trying to find everyone to leave. Then I heard the first riffs, and ditched my super expensive food to grab Jack's hand and rush back into the pit. Hahaha actually, I left Scott behind then magically he was behind us again, which was convenient because there were quite a few scary moments (like when a huge man charged at me, and I had no choice but to brace and push him back. eeek)

AHhhhhh, it was just good times. We have another concert to see Cage The Elephant and The Black Keys in September, and then the following weekend is RiotFest in Chicago..three days of awesomeness. That'll cost an epic amount...

So fucking worth it. I hope we can go.


Sagittarienne July 29, 2014

UM....im jealous of your concert fun. AND jealous that youre going to Riot Fest!! I'll either be snuggling a new baby or minutes from delivering, but I was SO bummed at missing the killer lineup.

And hey...you'll be like literally 30 minutes from me....can we meet then? PLEEEEEEEEEASE?!

Life.Uncommon Sagittarienne ⋅ July 29, 2014

Well obviously I'll need something to do during the boring sets ;) If we time it right I can backup doula ;)

Life.Uncommon Sagittarienne ⋅ July 29, 2014

(Do you hear me, Dos?)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.