non mummsy hair. in summer 2014 is a creepin' in.

  • July 28, 2014, 1:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have an ongoing battle with myself to not look mummsy, I mean, I love being a mum; you know I do. But, there's a huge part of me that still wants to come across as youthful (even though my skin belies that) in the way I look. My attitude is youthful, childlike even, but it's hard not to look mummsy when you are a mum.

Especially in this heat! Don't me wrong, I'm not knocking the heat, I'm loving it, but when your hair is as long and as thick as mine the temptation to just bung it up in a scrunchy is overwhelming! I've resisted time and time again, even had people comment on how hot I must be with my hair down but yesterday, yesterday I gave in.

I cut the (yellowing) grass as it was getting a little straggly which is usually an invite to all the local cats to poo everywhere, then I decided to tackle the trampoline which is a victim of age and the local cats who use the foam padding as purchase for climbing up it. I pulled all the padding off and binned it, I discovered that three of the springs had snapped and, luckily, remembered that it originally came with spares! (For me to remember that type of thing a few weeks later is impressive, let alone over seven years later). Between rich, myself and a tent peg remover tool we managed to get those springs on. Wooohooooo! I then found some pipe insulation foam in the shed to replace the padding from the net poles, I also used some to cover the springs, which I saw on pintrest recently!

As you can imagine, I was getting very hot during this and all this hair kept getting in the way so I grabbed one of the hair clips I use when de-nitting us all, wound my hair around and clipped it without looking in a mirror. Later, when I did glance mirrorwards I quite liked the effect. But tell me please, did I succeed in avoiding mummsy hair? Thanks.

></a

></a

My gorgeous buddlea is encouraging ask the butterflies and bees :-)

></a

That is all.


~Twinkle~ July 28, 2014

It suits you! My hair is permanently up in this weather but then it suffers terribly from over handling. I need to find different up dos other than a good old ponytail! X

woman in the moon July 28, 2014

I'd like to see some examples of mumsy hair. You have lovely hair. Love the color and texture and it was good just seeing you.

Deleted user July 28, 2014

For me mummsy hair is Bree Van de Kamp's hairstyle. When I do the school run, most of the mums look like her, always so neat and tidy and the same neat haircut! Me, I am a mess, I admit. I'm always wearing a messy bun. I think if it's a high bun, it looks very youthful!! And if you add a scarf to the style, then you get extra points! Like this: http://www.hairromance.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/5-ways-scarf-top-knot-hairstyle-headband-tutorial.jpg or like this: http://www.hairromance.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/5-ways-scarf-top-knot-hairstyle-bow-1.jpg

Just love those two and I think they look so 50's, but so trendy right now :)

Deleted user July 28, 2014

Ok, I should add: Bree Van de Kamp's hair at the beginning of Desperate Houseviwes, of course. After a couple of years she got less serious and rocked a lovely wavy long hair :)

Deleted user July 28, 2014

I think it looks great up like that! I can't believe people can wear their hair down in the summer. I have mine up every.single.day ... it's a very rare day where I can stand it around my neck through the summer. Plus I have to blow dry it to wear it down or it looks awful. I like the scarf images! How about a funky headband after you've put your hair up?

ElvenAssassin July 28, 2014

It's quite pretty! I avoid ponytails, but I just had a friend tell me how much they suit me... (and still I can't help but think, "I don't know... that is such a little girl thing")

thesunnyabyss July 28, 2014

I love it, but having said that, I do that to my hair most days in the summer myself, and I'm a mom, lol,

Have a great day!

edna million August 01, 2014

It looks great up! Not at all mumsy. Or, as we would say here, "Soccer Mom Hair"!

My buddlea is DEAD, or certainly seems to be. I've got two bushes which normally bloom like crazy this time of the year, and they didn't even get leaves. Other people around here have said the same thing happened to theirs, which is really weird and sad. I've got hydrangeas that also are normally enormous and full of blooms by now, and although they aren't dead, they are teeny and bloomless.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.