20 Random Facts in Everyday Things

  • July 26, 2014, 7:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

1) Whenever I go to a public bathroom, the first thing I do is check to see if there's soap in the dispenser.

2) I am the most basic person when it comes to food. It actually comes from my mom lol. For the last 30 years, she's ordered the same pizza from pizza hut: Large pepperoni lovers, extra cheese, extra sauce and wants nothing else. I'll go into Subway and order the 6" ham and white american on white bread with lettuce. Everytime I go to check out, they look at me like I have eight heads LOL.

3) I only went to one high school function, and that was homecoming. I wanted to go to Prom my junior year with my best friend because we were both single. She didn't want to go with me though.

4) I ALWAYS sleep with a fan on. It drives me crazy when I go to sleep without one.

5) I love picking people up and hoisting them over my shoulder!

6) People can never guess my ethnicity. Most people think I'm Mexican for some reason. I've gotten Indian, Middle Eastern, Hispanic, and countless others lol. For the record, I'm mixed with African-American and Creek Indian :-).

7) I prefer cold weather. I've never liked summer as a kid though I loved the annual vacations we used to go on as a family when I was younger.

8) My girlfriend is starting to get used to this, but I LOVE pictures! I love taking pictures, and I love it when people take pictures. It actually grows from being around my dad. He used to take pics all the time, but he rarely took pics of himself :-(. In fact, I don't have any pics of us. My family never had a portrait with the four of us (my mom, my dad, my sister and me). I have a family portrait of my sister, my mom and I when I was a toddler, and I have a family portrait of my sister, my dad, and my mom.

9) Whenever I'm going on vacation, I prefer leaving at the crack of dawn. My dad was a huge influence on that. He'd want us to get up and leave before 8, so we can get to our destination early enough.

10) I'm real good with remembering directions. If I go to a place once, I can remember how to get back without having to rely on gps or anything lol.

11) I was real close to my sister growing up. She's 11 years older than me, but that didn't stop me from wanting to spend as much time with her as I could. I used to get on her nerves with that and was always around when any of her boyfriends would come over lol. Even though I was the baby, she'd always get me in trouble at home LOL.

12) Speaking of trouble, I was a baaaaad kid in school heh. My parents were strict about wanting me to maintain All A's and B's. I got my report card one time, and it had a bad grade if I remember right. Anyway, back then, they gave us the report cards to bring home to our parents to sign. I didn't want my parents finding out, so I forged my mom's signature -_-. I think I was in 3rd grade when I did this, but the teacher knew my mom didn't sign it, and boy did I pay the price! My mom came into the class and whipped me in front of the class.

13) I actually have a middle sister, but I never had the chance to meet her. The only thing I know about her was that she was born in 1981, but she died during childbirth. From what I was told, the umbilical cord was wrapped around her neck and strangled her to death. I'd always wonder what life would have been like if she survived.

14) Keeping up with the sister theme, I loved my sister so much, I literally wanted to go to the same college she did. She went to college the same year I started first grade, and she went to Auburn University. Auburn is about 2 hours from us, but I used to HATE that ride! I was restless back then, and I used to cry once I realized we were going to Auburn...I would cry again once I knew we were going home lol.

15) The first job I had was at Domino's. I started out as a pizza delivery driver, but I didn't keep that job long lol.

16) My 5th grade teacher was a big influence on my life growing up. I didn't know at the time, but she was a friend of my dad's family. She introduced me to a local band teacher in Mr. Adams, and she gave me a coupon to attend classes at a local karate studio. When I met with Mr. Adams, he gave all of us a chance to sample various instruments before we went to middle school. I chose the bells, and that led to a wonderful time in my life. As far as karate went, I was a huge Power Rangers fan (still am!), and I felt like I could do some magical stuff with karate. As it turns out, I stuck with karate for about a decade and earned my 3rd degree black belt back in 2006.

17) I was in two high school plays: Julius Caesar and Romeo and Juliet. In Julius Caesar, I played Cassius the conspirator and Tybalt in Romeo and Juliet.

18) I was huge into Greek Mythology in high school and college. I was fascinated by the various myths and tales of how the stars came to be and the changing of the seasons or Zeus's many kids, etc. I really loved learning the origins of the constellations and they came to be.

19) I had my first girlfriend when I was in 8th grade (she was in 6th grade). Throughout middle school and high school, I had a couple of girlfriends including my psycho ex. She falsely accused me of stalking her around 2006.

20) When I was in middle school, I loved reading Hank the Cowdog, Nancy Drew, Goosebumps, and the Hardy Boys. I loved the Hardy Boys so much, I thought of myself as Frank Hardy from the Hardy Boys lol. Reading those books fed my love for writing fiction back in the day. I used to write a lot of short stories back then. For French class, I wrote a "trailer" for Scream lol. I used to love writing short stories!

Hope you enjoyed this entry!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.