july 25 in twenty-eight

  • July 25, 2014, 9:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My uncle (dad's older brother) came into town on Tuesday night and is leaving tonight (he had a high school reunion to attend in Illinois, I'm guessing it was the 35th or 40th), so my mom texted me yesterday afternoon to ask if I wanted to come to Mellow Mushroom tonight for dinner.

I don't really even know him, and have only met him a handful of times, and when I have spent any kind of time with him I feel like he's the kind of person who just goes on and on about himself. He has a very interesting life; he travels around the world regularly training people in other countries how to use polygraph test machines and seems to love his job. Anyhow, I find that when he's around, I just sit there for a bit while he talks. And it's fine, since I only see him every five years or so.

I ended up going with roomie and his son. Everyone except Sarah was there from my family. Kim brought her husband and Josh brought his girlfriend. My mom also brought her friend from church. So I guess that would make 14 people total. It was crowded. Fortunately, since the kiddo is still pretty young, we had a reason to only stay for a limited amount of time.

Also thankfully, by the time the subject of politics came up (my uncle is kind of a right-wing nutso. I say this as someone who doesn't disagree with some of the right-wing ideologies, but he's really out there), roomie had taken the kiddo on a walk to keep him occupied, so I don't think anyone got too pissed off.

I didn't get to sleep until eleven last night because I decided, stupidly, to start browing the internet for iPad covers (I bought an iPad yesterday. Okay, I actually bought two...a regular one and a mini, since the kiddo could use some distractions in the car. It's not HIS iPad, since I don't think he needs one, but it will be nice to keep handy while the other one is used mostly by me for studying and doing my own stuff).

Anyhow, I found the Etsy shop of one user and I think the concept is so fantastic. https://www.etsy.com/shop/chicklitdesigns

The ONLY thing keeping me from buying one (five?) is that I can't decide on a book I love enough to have her make a cover out of. There are so many good choices, though!

Today is dragging. It's one of our admins' last days so I have a long lunch at noon, and I'm supposed to study this afternoon as well. The weather has been so cooperative lately though that it makes it difficult to be inside. And especially so on a Friday.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.