reality check - the achey shoulder edition.r in summer 2014 is a creepin' in.

  • July 25, 2014, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

WHERE: I'm still in bed - I woke up at 3.30, after 5 hours sleep and my shoulder hurts, I must have been lying in a strange position. But I couldn't get back to sleep. It's 5.30 now and I'm starting to feel tired!

WEARING: my usual except without the rings. I took them off yesterday when we were making cookies so that we could knead the cookie dough and I haven't put them back on. Oh, and I have new earrings! Two tiny gold studs in the upper part of my ear and small gold hearts in the other holes.

FITNESS UPDATE: I have plantar fasciitis feelings again :-( lots of stretching and golf ball massages. I know what did it, we hired a bouncy castle for Lila's birthday and I could feel it while I was bouncing but I didn't want to stop!

IN THE NEWS: another aircraft has crashed. Locally, two girls have been grabbed by the same man on their way to/from school. I know both girls involved as they are friends of Nia's, and I'm friends with the mum of one of them. Having allowed my girls a little more freedom this summer - they've been out on scooters, roller blades and bikes on the footpath behind the house and been allowed to play at the football field at the back of the street - I've had to tell them to stick to the back garden for the time being.

READING: I've just finished Wild by Cheryl Strayed which was a travelogue about her walk along the Pacific Crest Trail in 1995. It was very good. I'm planning on the The Dragon Business by Kevin K Anderson next.

ACTIVITIES TODAY: as usual, it's Friday. I plan to go to toy library. School finished yesterday so I'll have Tally, Lila, Lyf and Libby with me. It's Lyf's last day with me today, after four years! I also need to go to a computer repair shop to visit my poor sick laptop. The other day Talaia wanted to use it, I was trying to put the password in while she was talking to me. The other kids were making a racket and I put the password in wrong three times. Because this was Rich's laptop when he worked at Woolworths, it still thinks it's on Woolworths' domain and locked me out. Now Woolworths' administrator needs to unlock it.

Woolworths doesn't have an administrator because it went out of business in 2009! The repair shop can't get into the computer but have downloaded all my data... But they're planning to charge me £80 for an external hard drive upon which to place the aforementioned data... on top of the fee for downloading it, which will be £90! So I need to go in and tell them what they can delete so that it can fit on a memory stick. A lot of it is backed up, but not all of it. Eff, eff Jeff.

THINKING ABOUT: all the goodbyes. There were Cal and KJ on Wednesday as well as volunteer school, yesterday was a boy that I don't think I've mentioned here, no point in giving him a name really though! Today it will be Lyf and Nia, then Libby has two more weeks. It's like a huge eraser is moving slowly down my current life, leaving a blank screen for the next part of my life...

PLANNING: lots of chilling! Did I mention that SCHOOL'S OUT FOR SUMMER!?


~Twinkle~ July 25, 2014

Enjoy your day. Goodbyes are tough but lots of exciting things to look forward too :)x

Darcy0207 from OD July 25, 2014

shoulder - make sure it's not "frozen" - I had that for a while - ouch. Wild - will be coming out as a movie in a few months - with Reece Witherspoon as the lead. I just read it also.

ermentrude Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ July 26, 2014

I may have to check that movie out :-) thank you.

My shoulder eased off after I dozed between 6.30 and 7am. This morning it hurts again - is this normal for a frozen shoulder? X

Darcy0207 from OD ermentrude ⋅ July 26, 2014

It can last for months. I ended up with limited range of motion - couldn't lift it or move it around without a lot of pain. The chiropractor helped a LOT, but he had to really pummel it!

ermentrude Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ July 26, 2014

What I meant was, does it come and go? X

Darcy0207 from OD ermentrude ⋅ July 26, 2014

it can get better... then worse again. I found some very tender spots - not even high on the shoulder, but on the arm right below the shoulder joint.

Deleted user July 25, 2014

I don't get people who mess with kids. I'd freaking push them all from a cliff (or worse). It makes me SO angry!

I admire you for your courage. So excited to see what the future brings you :) hugs feel better soon!

ElvenAssassin July 25, 2014

That's so upsetting about the laptop! And the missing girls :( I get freaked out allowing the girls to play in the front (no fences), but there are so many things in the back obscuring my view and no gate for the driveway that I feel they are safer in the front. :/

thesunnyabyss July 27, 2014

I like the star analogy, and the good byes, totally relate to that right now and even the plantar fasciitis, been working that out of my left foot too, lol

Happy Sunday!

Deleted user July 30, 2014

I hate how much people charge for giving you your data. They know most people will pay it because they need their data.

Sad about the girls being nabbed. Are they okay?

I'm really looking forward to reading about your next adventures!

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ July 30, 2014

The girls are fine, apparently one was grabbed around the waist and the other by her face but they, and the friends with them, ran. X

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.