Surgeries everywhere in A new beginning

  • July 24, 2014, 8:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This week has been hell. I have been drowning at work all week with no end in sight. Thank God tomorrow is not only Friday but I get to go into the OR all day with my surgeon and watch procedures. I will get to see two radial collateral ligament repairs, (one chronic and one acute), a cmc thumb arthroplasty, a bursa olecranon excision, two carpal tunnels and I think there are a couple I'm missing but it will be awesome to see exactly what she does. She said the elbow is going to be gross because it is a type of infection that looks like cottage cheese so that sounds pretty appetizing. I'm just really hoping I don't get light headed or pass out. I've never kept a mask on that long before and with the nausea and other issues I've been having I'm a little nervous about that. She was really great today about explaining the procedures and what I should do and if I start to feel sick and to not try to tough it out if I'm feeling light headed and to just leave the OR for a few minutes if I get that feeling.

Speaking of that, long story short, the antibiotics I was put on for the h pylori made me sick so they told me to stop taking them and referred me to a gastroenterologist to have an endoscopy done. It is scheduled for August 13th. Luckily my surgeon is friends with the surgeon that is doing it and she is also the only female surgeon in her practice as well so I know I am getting someone good at least. Plus side, my left wrist is actually doing a lot better and I haven't had to wear the brace or cast at all for a couple weeks now. It is still visibly inflamed and I still have some pain but not that severe pain I was having so I am pretty damn happy about that! The right wrist is getting worse each day though and now I'm pretty convinced the surgery helped quite a bit I will schedule the surgery for the right sometime in the fall most likely. I just hope the merger doesn't go through all of the sudden since I have met my deductible already and if it does that would mean I would have new insurance and have to go through that all over again.

Another good thing, Lilly has been sleeping a lot better at night, thank God. I've actually been able to get her to sleep between 7 and 8:30ish every night without her waking up in the middle of the night for good. She still wakes up here and there crying to nurse but goes right back to sleep. I'm really hoping I didn't jinx it by saying that though! ha. Mama needs her sleep! I've actually been on a great streak of being on time at work. Now if only I could get out on time every day.


NeonLady July 24, 2014

Yeah trying to tough it out could be bad, lol. Enjoy! I would pass out...in fact my heart is beating faster just thinking about watching something like that, haha!

So glad your wrist is doing better - you get some relief somewhere. :)

Fawkes Gal July 25, 2014

Geez, what a mess of stuff. :( I hope everything works out ok!

Vee August 03, 2014

Glad your left wrist it's doing better and that Lilly is sleeping better now :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.