Hmm - 25.07.14 in Your Face

  • July 25, 2014, 12:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

After falling into a funk, I had decided that I would spend yesterday firmly planted in my bed, reading and watching movies.

After having my usual morning tea with my neighbour, I headed back to my room (aka my cave) and surveyed the disgusting state that it was in. I decided I had better do some washing, because I was down to my last pair of jeans. That turned into three loads of washing, all hung to dry on coat hangers hooked on my curtain rod, and two clothes horses.

Then I decided to pack the last of my boxes and tape them up. There's no room for them, so I pulled everything out of the closet so I could stack them in there. I thought about how the huge suitcase I got as a farewell gift from my work colleagues would be better off filled with stuff, seeing as I have absolutely no space in this room. I went through my clothes and threw a few things away (nothing worth donating because I wear my clothes to death). Packed a huge amount of clothing, a few pairs of shoes, jars of Vegemite. Weighed it with the nifty luggage scale that I bought at ALDI 18 months ago, and I can still jam about another 6kg in there if I need to. That's good, because I can't gauge how much clothing and stuff I have left and whether it's more or less than what I just packed. I am taking two huge suitcases and one carry on bag.

And so that continued, cleaning and sorting and figuring out which bags which items need to go in, I have far too many electronics that need to go in my hand luggage (I don't quite trust putting them in my suitcases, despite never having anything go missing from a back in nearly 20 years of international travel, I am just a paranoid fool). I am also conscious that my carry on can't be too heavy, Qantas has really cut down their carry on allowances. I think I will be okay, though. All that needs to be added to the carry on is a clean t-shirt, small toiletries, a book and my wallet and stuff. I should be either on or just below the weight limit. I will be able to bargain with the desk, anyway, because I am not taking a "personal bag".

After all that, it was barely noon, which was surprising. My brother came home shortly afterwards, bored, so I straightened my hair and went with him while he ran errands. I was mortified following him around the huge, echoing hardware store while he bellowed his usual stories of bravado, with every second word being "fck" or "cnt". I swear too much myself, but I am just embarrassed by the way he speaks so loudly, and has absolutely no consideration for people around him. I'm sure the mother with the 6 year old son in the same aisle as us didn't want her son to hear, "Yeah, I need to get some of these fckin' bolts. That cnt of a dog won't be able to get off his fckin' chain if I use these fckers. Ay." And I'm not being a prude, it's that it's not appropriate.

Anyway. After that, we went to the pub near the house for a few drinks, then back to our neighbour's house for a cheese board and a few more drinks.

It's cold and overcast today, so I again planned to spend the day inside, wrapped in blankets, but my brother wants to go and test drive a car. To be honest, I don't really care what I do with my days at the moment, so I will tag along with him again.

In case you're wondering, I don't try and correct him on his language. Maybe once a fortnight I will tell him to keep the c*nts to a minimum in public, but it's pointless. He's a grown man and if he wants to live this crappy life (which I have covered a million times before) and use his limited vocabulary to make sure that everyone in his vicinity is made aware that he's a faux hard case bogan, then those are his choices. Who am I to try and change him? I don't want him to try and change me from being an uptight, rule following, paranoid, goody two-shoes.


Dictynna July 25, 2014

Yikes, I love to swear but I would be a bit uncomfortable around someone that obnoxious, too.

I currently have many garments that have gaping holes in them, so I'm with you on the wearing clothes to death thing. ;)

AlexYourAlterEgo Dictynna ⋅ July 25, 2014

Oh, I had to argue with myself to throw out a t-shirt with the following criteria:

a) It was an old work t-shirt of my brother's from 10 years ago b) it had holes around the collar and armpits c) it was three sizes too big for me d) it had paint stains ALL OVER it

I was thinking I'd keep it for yard work, then realised I have ten other shirts that are for yard work and I probably work in the yard once a year....

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.