july 24 in twenty-eight

  • July 24, 2014, 8:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

For a month or two, I have been attempting to drink less Diet Coke. I'm not doing it because of the caffeine; I have such a minimal reaction to caffeine, and I don't suffer much in the way of withdrawal, but I don't think that diet soda is healthy. I think it tastes good, which is why I allow myself a can a day at work and a 20-ounce a day on the weekends, but I'm sure it's just one more thing that's slowly killing me.

So far it's been a success. I've been drinking loads of water with lemon and I don't keep soda in the house anymore, which makes it much easier to decide to drink water for dinner, or at night before bed.

However, lately I haven't been able to make myself go to bed at a reasonable time. It's 10:30 before I get into bed and closer to eleven before I actually fall asleep. And with a 20-minute communite to work from my front door to my office chair, I need to wake up no later than 6:15 if I want to shower, dry my hair, etc etc. So that is about seven hours of sleep. It's a lot for most people, but I am not most people. I barely function on that. My doctor has advised I get closer to nine or ten, but who has time for that? So, getting up is a challenge. Staying up is also a challenge. And while caffeine doesn't do much for me, it at least keeps me from falling asleep standing up, so I bought a Keurig last week and I've been drinking a cup of coffee on my way to work every morning.

It's actually a very nice routine. I leave the house at 7:10 with my travel mug in hand, sipping it all along 315 and finishing just before I pull into the garage.

My concern is that I'm just trading in one bad habit for another. I know that coffee doesn't have all the awful chemicals and whatnots that soda has, but it would be a real drag to get hooked on caffeine and not even get any of the benefits of it.

As I am writing this, it is almost 9:30, which means I'm a quarter of the way through my day, and I could easily drop my head into my hands and snooze for an hour at my desk.

In non beverage news, it's a beautiful day. My plans for today are to work only as long as I have to, followed by a trip to the grocery store. I discovered Lucky's Market yesterday and I like. It's just a few blocks from where I live and while it definitely has that pretentious vibe (along the lines of Whole Foods), it also seems to have quality food and so many local choices, too. I know they are a chain but I don't think they are as widespread as W.F.

And then I'm going to bed no later than nine. I need a good night's sleep or there is no way I'll be able to function Friday night, the best night of all.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.