july 22 in twenty-eight

  • July 22, 2014, 6 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

With the exception of buying a bookshelf for the study, I think I'm done spending money for a while. I still need chairs and a big bookshelf for the living room, and a new dining room table, and new kitchen appliances, and a guest room bed, and...and...and.....

But those things will all have to wait.

I had a study day today and spent two hours on the porch. It was glorious. My office gets SO COLD in the summer...the hotter it is outside, the colder it is inside. It's even colder than when I was in a cubicle, so I have a heating pad I place on my lap on the shivering days. It was 90 degrees yesterday, so being outside, in the shade, was s'wonderful.

I know we are almost 60% of the way through this year, but I've already blown through over 70% of my time off. This never happens. I took several days in March to go out to Arizona, I took a week in June for R's wedding, and I've taken a miscellaneous 69 hours off for other reasons (the house, half days here and there, etc). So I have a whopping 61.8 hours left to use for the year, and 24 of those are holidays! Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas...

I hate having to budget my time off. Usually by this point in the year I've used maybe 30% of my time off and have the luxury of being able to plan a week off at Christmas, if I want. I think this year I'll take Christmas Eve and the day after Christmas, too. Also the day after Thanksgiving. Which leaves me with less than two days.

I guess this is the first year where I won't be able to take the week of Labor Day off. Oh well, I only really ever wanted it for my anniversary anyway, which is now a thing of the past.


Last updated July 23, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.