And I'm Off Again in Life

  • July 22, 2014, 10:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm headed to New Orleans tomorrow. I love that place (for short visits). It's gorgeous and has so much history and culture. It can also be freaky scary, more so lately. (I'm NEVER out at night unless I'm with a large group.) I don't know that I'll actually get much chance to poke around. I'm going for a social studies workshop. It's on civics and using mock trials in the classroom. We'll also get to visit the state Supreme Court. I'm so excited that I found a social studies workshop. There's so much out there for science, but not that much for general social studies (which is what us elementary people teach). I did find an awesome one on the Constitution that I wanted to go to, but it was in DC and wasn't free. This one is. I get two nights at the Westin on Canal Street. Even better...no roommate this time! :) I've never stayed at the Westin before (far too rich for my bank account), but it has a rooftop pool and 29 floors. It's right on the River. Of course all of New Orleans is right on the river. lol Can you imagine the view from there? It's supposed to rain, but I will be heading up there anyway! I'll try and write while I'm there, if not, I'm sure I'll have some pictures to share when I get back. I will also try and forget the work I still need to to in my classroom. Nice J came back from her vacation yesterday and I spent most of yesterday and today in her room helping her. That meant I had to stay later to work in mine, and still didn't get what I needed done. :( She offered to do anything I wanted in my room while I was gone. I didn't leave a note, but I did leave a few things I laminated. I'm curious to see if she'll take the initiative to trim it for me. (Not big deal if she doesn't, it will only take about 5 minutes to do, but just curious.)

And, just because I'm excited to have figured out how to post videos, so I keep doing so, and the fact that when I think of New Orleans, I always end up singing this song: (Hmmmm... well the video is there, but so is some of the code - at least there's only one video now. lol)

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//
" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen=""></iframe>

Small Town Girl July 23, 2014

Have fun!

Jigger July 24, 2014

I would love to go there someday. It's MFK's hometown, after all!

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ July 24, 2014

I'm sure he would know all the really cool places to check out! It's not as much fun by yourself. :(

Jigger dream seeker ⋅ July 25, 2014

Hm. I think he would know more of the low-down, dirty, sketchy places to check out. I might rather go with you. :P

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ July 26, 2014

lol You know, deep in your heart you would love those low-down, dirty, sketchy places. :D

terriberri July 24, 2014

you have ants in your pants this summmer....just can't sit still and stay put! lol. good for you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.