Mac the Chew in Diary

  • July 21, 2014, 9:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Mac the Chew, instead of Mac the Knife...after the puppy who chews everything in sight.

Man, what a weekend! I thought this house sitting assignment would be easier than the last one, as I was minus the blind, epileptic German shepherd who paced the house and whined at night time and went to the toilet in the house. No such luck! With a seven month old puppy instead, who seems to sleep in naps like a baby. He insisted on lying on my stomach or my legs when I went to bed, which made it hard to get to sleep (I couldn't shut him out of the room or he barked and scratched the door). And he woke up about once an hour or every two hours, to have a bit of a wander around, bark for a bit, or annoy the daschund, before settling down again. Night and day, he was the same; nap, play, nap, play. Which isn't easy when I'm a diurnal human being!

Here they both are. The daschund (River) was no trouble at all; very quiet and gentle and sleeps about 20 hours a day. Whenever the puppy (Macca) would leap on her and play up, she would give me a look as if to say "Oh my god, can you do something about this please?" lol!

And this is the reason I wasn't able to stay in bed past 7am on Saturday or Sunday. I don't even get up that early when I'm going to work! Excuse the terrible photo, they were moving too quickly and it was still quite dark :-/

And Macca doing what he does best; chewing! I lost count of the number of times I had to take things off him and stick my finger in his mouth to stop him eating things.

He's loads of fun as well though, and very loving.

Now I've handed my notice in at work, I can tell everyone I'm leaving and I can start advertising properly without worrying about my workmates seeing it :o)


I've just realised, the last free weekend I had was July 12th-13th and I don't have another one until August 30th-31st! That's seven weeks in between! Activities include Chillifields, various roller derby events, mam and dad coming to visit me, me going to visit them, a birthday party in Grantham and Altfest! So busy, I don't have any more free weekends until I leave work! I'll have to make sure I get everything set up for my business in the evenings, eeeeee! Exclamation marks! Everywhere!
Roller derby yesterday was great, I'm finally starting to get the hang of transitions, after weeks of frustration. Also, the lady who was training this week gave us loads of tips on crossovers (crossing your feet over each other when going around corners) which greatly increases speed and will help no end in getting 23 laps in 5 minutes and then 27 in 5. I've been terrified of crossovers until now but I'm getting the hang of them now and it's really helping me to pick up speed :o)

Still excited and bouncing, can't wait to spend my days outside with animals :o)

29 working days remaining


Babe In Toyland July 21, 2014

I'm surprised River hadn't shown Mac a few puppy manners! Funny, our Jamie has a new puppy called Mac too, a whippet, and he chews everything as well!

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ July 21, 2014

She growls and snaps at him, but he doesn't care and just carries on annoying her. I'm surprised she hasn't nipped him yet!

~Twinkle~ July 21, 2014

Crossovers are the things people find hard in skating, it took me a while to relearn them :) Yay for finishing work soon! Xx

Bomb Shell ~Twinkle~ ⋅ July 21, 2014

I think it's mainly down to confidence; it really scary having your foot off the ground for that long and moving it that far over. Once I got over the fear and forced myself to do it, I found it much easier :)

Deleted user July 27, 2014

That must be such a relief to have put your notice in!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.