The Novel in book reviews

  • July 19, 2014, 2:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Author: James Mitchner

Most of this author's novels have to do with a place - often far from these shores. This book has to do with the writing of books, reviewing and publishing of books. There are many steps and lots of behind the scenes work.

The story is told in four sections: the author (and his backstory); the editor (her story); the critic (he's also a professor) and a reader (who's more than just a reader).

It's interesting most of the time. There's a detour towards the end of the book that baffles me, but it points out the times when people conflict and times when they pull together and cooperate.

It's mostly set in the Pennsylvania Dutch country - near Kutztown. And there ARE maps in the book - YAY!


woman in the moon July 19, 2014

I think I read this - or parts of it anyway. I remember a part where he's talking about paperback publishing and how the covers get more lurid as the book gets cheaper and farther away from the original hard cover. He protested but then agreed that they helped sales.

I love Michener - I wrote about him in 750 words this morning. He reminded me of my dad. His books aren't 'art' but they are good 'almost art'.

Hawaii was one of my favorites and The Drifters about a bunch of semi-hippies in Europe evading the draft. I also read Caravans not too long ago, set in Afghanistan soon after WWII. You can't help learning from his books.

Darcy0207 from OD woman in the moon ⋅ July 19, 2014

It's usually a real process to read his books. And yes, I remember reading about the Platte River - Colorado was the name of the book, I think. Learned a LOT. This book is very different in that he discusses philosophy of writing - write "good" books, popular books for the masses OR heavy, ponderous, thought provoking books for the "industry". I'll stay as "the masses".

woman in the moon Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ July 19, 2014

Maugham was like that too. Looked down upon for being popular. I like his books a lot too.

Ragdolls July 23, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.