Houston Trip #2 in Life

  • July 18, 2014, 12:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

And, just over a week later - I was back in Houston. lol It was a really busy and eventful week. I'm so glad I got to go. Between budget issues and the fact that I'm from Louisiana (and they like sending new people - I've been 3 times) I probably won't get to go again. I'm glad I made it. My roommate was....interesting. She was loud. Oh.my.gosh. insanely loud. Like the people next door said something to us the next day (also participants). She was very self centered and selfish. I attributed it to her being so young. (She told me she had just finished her 2nd year teaching, so I assumed she was early 20s.) Nope - she was 32. She cried on the last day, first because she had to tell me good-bye, then because she couldn't go in and shop before they left for the airport. 32 freaking years old, people. shaking my head Anyway, I'm going to hit the highlights so I'll do it day by day. (Feel free to ignore, I want the record on here. :) ) Sunday - we did a class on certification for borrowing moon rock samples for the classroom (which I will be doing this year) then on to the Meet and Greet. This was at the boardwalk restaurant, which has a huge aquarium in the middle of it (on 2 floors - not on the party floor, which we were on. ) One of the best parts of the workshop has always been Clayton Anderson, an astronaut who just retired. He's hilarious, and a blast to listen to.  photo IMG_0219_zpsbb5a480e.jpg

Gaaaaahhhhhh I hate me in pictures. Anyway, my kids love him. We include him in our museum each year, and he dances in the NASA Johnson style (I'll put that at the end of this)  photo IMG_0260_zps1c5029a2.jpg

Monday we did an entire day in the classroom listening to speakers and doing activities. It was fun (even though most of it was a little over my kids' heads.) We ended the day with Lupe Tortillas. If there's one near you, you MUST give it a try. A 4 course meal - chips with salsa and beans, then more chips and queso (yuuuuuummmm) and guacamole, then nachos with all the sides, then the main course - homemade tortillas (a foot across - literally) fajita chicken and beef that both melt in your mouth - again with all the fixings. You want to roll out. We finished it with sopapillas (with your choice of strawberry sauce, chocolate, or honey). I had a margarita (or two) to go with the meal. It was really good, too. A shot down one of the two tables that we filled up:  photo IMG_20140707_193539_071_zpsbf76c243.jpg

Tuesday - The highlight of the week - Gene Kranz spoke to us. He was the Flight Director for Apollo 11 and Apollo 13. He spoke to us about those and other experiences he had. He was so humble and we were all geeky, jittery excited to listen. (Except my roommate who interrupted him - twice)  photo IMG_8913_zps29ef2133.jpg

 photo IMG_8959_zpse9170156.jpg

We also went out to the planetarium for a star party (I saw the rings on Saturn - so cool!) As part of that we did the Challenger Mission. A mock run in Mission Control and then swapping out to the Space Station. I was part of Life Support. Dawn was with me (she's from Roswell - how cool!)  photo IMG_0336_zps3ab00cc9.jpg

 photo IMG_0339_zps6963f4fb.jpg

 photo IMG_0431-Copy_zps0c3ea3e0.jpg

 photo IMG_0454-Copy-Copy_zpsb7bb8c9d.jpg

Wednesday - we did a lot. One of them was looking at 3D printing (so cool - I want one!!) These are my Space Invader earrings being printed:  photo IMG_20140709_103529_192_zps68cbe526.jpg

 photo IMG_20140709_105119_670_zps3c290159.jpg

 photo IMG_8494_zps59b9654b.jpg

We met a great man, Dr. Jack Bacon. He has helped form a group that uses some of the technologies from NASA and the ISS to help under developed countries get fresh water. He was truly inspiring to listen to. Yes, I took a picture with him, but I'm tired of posting those. lol This lady, was in my group and so sweet. The day before this all began, she was treated in the ER and they discovered she has an enlarged heart. She was very worried and asked for our prayers. She was a truly wonderful lady. I'm so glad I got to meet her.  photo IMG_9180_zps091ad736.jpg

We did some engineering challenges:  photo IMG_9091_zps53d895f0.jpg

And my favorite - Norm Chaffee. He was an engineer on the Saturn V rocket (the rocket that flew to the moon.) He's such a joy to listen to. He's sweet and funny and I could listen to him all day.  photo IMG_9248_zps50749118.jpg

 photo IMG_9264_zpsf49c8e4a.jpg

Later that afternoon he met us over at Rocket Park. They have what was supposed to be Apollo 18 (which was cancelled) there. The Smithsonian had it restored after it sat there for years decaying. Norm was able to explain everything on it and what happened at each point. It was funny to see people walking by and then stopping to listen. We also met his wife. She was so sweet.  photo IMG_9329_zps0ee9c977.jpg

 photo IMG_9338_zps1a8c4deb.jpg

Thursday, more engineering challenges (the theme was engineering) We also visted a nearby software company that works with NASA to develop programs. We played with resources that they have including an app they are working on to create 3D images:  photo IMG_9233_zpsaab95be4.jpg

We built Bristle Bots (out of battery operated toothbrushes)

Me trying out mine:  photo IMG_8788_zps23600923.jpg

Bristle Bot Dance Off  photo IMG_8815_zps2b27f5cf.jpg

We ended Thursday with our banquet at Johnson Space Center. A wonderful catered meal. The best part, though, was listening to our speaker - Fred Haise, one of the astronauts on Apollo 13. He was another humble man with so many stories to tell. Even as amazing as his stories of Apollo 13 were, the things he did after were fascinating. (When I met him to get a picture with him he asked where I was from, and when I told him, he spent several minutes talking about an airbase near me and how pretty it was, just so sweet).

While we were waiting for him to start, he walked around and greeted everyone.  photo IMG_8815_zps2b27f5cf.jpg

Yes, that's President Kennedy in the corner. lol Well, a cutout of him. This is the podium he stood at to give his famous speech at Rice University.  photo IMG_9596_zps0a768f71.jpg

 photo IMG_9644_zps726de180.jpg

Friday - we toured Johnson Space Center (back on the Tram)  photo IMG_0524_zps95dc7f15.jpg

 photo IMG_0524_zps95dc7f15.jpg

We brunched with Astronaut Leroy Chiaou (who was a really good speaker).  photo IMG_0615_zpsbf80c04d.jpg

Can you spot him? He's in the middle. lol  photo IMG_0609_zps5c53e191.jpg

A few more pictures from JSC:  photo IMG_0652_zpsda22ef22.jpg

 photo IMG_0654_zps3913002f.jpg

 photo IMG_0659_zps81e83d46.jpg

 photo IMG_0662_zps1b866868.jpg

Wow, lots of pictures, and a great week!! Some wonderful people and so exciting to meet 3 true American Heroes.

In ending, if it will load - here's the video. My kids love dancing to it. <object width="560" height="315"><param name="movie" value="//

"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="//
" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="560" height="315" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed></object>


terriberri July 18, 2014

i LOVE seeing you in so many pics. you do some amazing things...this trip looks amazing!

Small Town Girl July 19, 2014

I want to go! Looks like so much fun! I love your orange striped, sparkly top!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.