Fuddy Dudded? in Everything Else

  • July 17, 2014, 3:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not quite sure what it says about people when their children volunteer to be designated drivers for their high school reunion. I won’t lie, it is my 20th reunion (not 20th reunioin, but 20 years since graduation. I don’t want you to think I went to school with JC, Peter, Paul & the other members of the original Boy Band). So, based on that and the fact that none of my classmates were Doogie Houser, we are all within two years of being 40 (some are actually already there…take that for what you will). Isn’t that a little old to be planning on getting so shitfaced you need a teenager to drive you home? Or am I just a fuddy duddy?

I am not going to my reunion for a couple of reasons. First I have zero desire to spend any time with those people. Second, I don’t actually talk to any of them on a regular basis, am not friends with anyone from my class, haven’t even talked to any of them in several years, so why waste my time and money on a very poorly planned and executed reunion?

Here is what I know. Every bit of planning and contact has been through facebook. Every single bit. No letters, no newspaper announcements, nothing other than a facebook group that they didn’t even add people to! I found it by accident and had to REQUEST to be included! Definitely not like the reunions of other classes around here. Most at least put it in the paper a few times (for free!). The plans are a no host social at a local dive bar with “music provided by Frankie as he DJs downstairs”. Uh, you are basically scamming the DJ from the downstairs bar, not actually paying or hiring him out. Theives! Then there is a dinner on Saturday night with some sort of DJ or nobody band, I can’t remember since I had to piece it all together through random facebook posts. Then a bring your own food & beverage picnic on Sunday. I believe there is also a pay as you go golf thing for the guys. $115 per person. No souvenir t-shirt. Just a dinner and a few horse devours. For $115 I can get four meals with tips at the restaurant that is catering the Saturday night dinner.

If I had enjoyed high school in the least little bit, I would consider going. If they were going to have some more activities, maybe. But I hated high school. I was treated like shit and I really don’t want to commemorate that by paying a fortune for something I can have any day of the week. Plus, I am so embarrassed by how half-assed this whole thing has been and now teenagers being DDs. It is just too much. I don’t want to be associated with that at all.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.