RipperSnapper Cometh in Gaming.

  • July 17, 2014, 1:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Now a gaming desktop is like a fine car. You have to name it. Now, I have almost completely decided on the components of my setup. And It'll be about a month or two before we see a definitive purchase happen. However, I figure I can give you all a preview what should be coming, and some of the options I am considering.

Let's start off with the actual rig itself. The Vanquish 2. The top tier. alt text

Specs: Processor: Intel Core i5 4590 3.30 GHz (Quad Core) Motherboard: ASUS H8M1-D/E Plus (Intel H81 Chipset) (MATX) System Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600MHz DS certified performance series Power Supply: 600W Corsair CX Optical Drive: DVD-R/RW/CD-R/RW (DVD Writer 24x/ CD Writer 48x) Storage 1: 1 SSD (120 GB Samsung 840 EVO) Storage 2: 1 1TB Seagate (7200 RPM)(64MB Cache) Graphics Card: 1 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB (Includes PhysX) Integrated Motherboard Audio Extreme Cooling: AIR: Stage 1: High Performance Cooler with Large Fan and Copper Pipes Standard Factory Chassis Fan Software: Windows 8.1 (64-Bit) Recovery Windows Recovery Toolkit Free McAfee Antivirus 1 year service activation card

So that's basically all you need to know about the actual rig.

Monitor: QNIX QX2710 LED Evolution 2 SE 27' 2560x1440 Samsung hooks up through DVI alt text

Capture Card: AVERMEDIA Game Broadcaster HD

Mouse: Logitech G502 Proteus Core Tunable Gaming Mouse alt text

Now Keyboard is going to have a few options that I haven't decided on yet.

Let's start with the temporary mouse and keyboard combo

Temporary: CM Storm Devastator LED Gaming Keyboard and Mouse Combo Bundle alt text

Now for the real keyboard considerations.

Logitech 1: Logitech G510S Gaming Keyboard alt text

Logitech 2: G19S Gaming Keyboard alt text

The problem with the Logitechs is that they are not mechanical keyboards.

Now, note that I am going for blue accents to match my rig.

Mechanical options: Gigabyte Aivia Osmium CHERRY Red Mechanical Gaming Keyboard with Blue Back-Lit alt text

Well that is actually the top option the rest are all generic mechanical keyboards with back lighting. If you know of one that can be blue and backlit and is mechanical, let me know.

Flight stick: Mad Catz F.L.Y. 5 Stick for PC alt text

Flight Pedals: Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals alt text

Racing Wheel Logitech G27 alt text

For a little added flavor The G430 Surround Sound Gaming Headset alt text

Now I already have the Razer Kraken 7.1, but that green light would clash so much. And the G430 is fairly cheap for a pretty good headset, so why not. I deserve it lol.

Now my graphic design buddy and I decided the name. RipperSnapper. Why you ask? Well take a look at that flight stick and mouse. They kinda look like Decepticons, if ya know what I mean. So, it all started with the idea of we could get a Decepticon decal for the chassis. Then it turned into, wait, it needs a name. So we looked up some Decepticons, looking for one that was mainly blue. Some popped up and then I found RIPPERSNAPPER. Ladies and Gentlemen, meet RipperSnapper. alt text HE'S A SHARK!!!

So he's is a graphics designer. He made up a little something for a custom mouse pad to add a bit more awesome to this already badass set up. alt text

After I woke up this morning he sent me an updated text. alt text compared to the original alt text

That slight tilt of the A seems to add that smidge of extra shark fin in the water look.

There are a few other minor things I am considering. I may get a new desk depending on how the setup works with my current furniture, a new desk chair, etc.

I intend to set up a network drive with a shit ton of space, probably 2 TB to start, to hold music, and movies, and the like. A few mounts to hold my headsets, controllers, and what not.

RipperSnapper Cometh.
Soon.

And while I am here, shameless promotion of a mod that my graphic designer buddy worked on. He did some assets, and designed some of the more awesome things in it. It's a little thing called Aperature Tag: The Paint Gun Testing Initiative. http://store.steampowered.com/app/280740/ He made the actual logo, just to give you an idea of how badass he is. alt text


Ditch Witch July 17, 2014

I have both of those Logitechs and they are pretty damn nice keyboards. I too am a fan of mechanical though so I am not using them..they live on the other two machines in the house..but they are def sweet quality keyboards..very responsive and sturdy..heavy enough ..I am using a razer blackwidow ultimate mech..but i tend to avoid razer stuff because I once had an issue with the Naga epic..back when it was HIDEOUSLY expensive..I had only owned it for a month and ended up getting screwed over by razer's customer service..so I normally dont buy their stuff. I got the keyboard for xmas tho and the am using a razer mamba right now because my logitech mouse died a few months ago and I had the razer hanging around on a different machine. The logitech backlighting on the keyboards isnt super bright btw..I needed really bright (i worked/played at night and in the dark lol) but they are so nice. God..sorry this is a novel..I got all excited when i saw your entry in latest entries..I just put up an entry about my new rig I was building too and the parts are arriving tomorrow..so I can relate to getting all excited about this lol Have fun and good luck :) OH OH wait..have you looked into the Ducky mechanicals??? I think they have blue backlighting..i think they have cherry mx brown and blue (55cN and 60cN I believe)..anyways..good luck :))) cant wait to hear more.

TheKing Ditch Witch ⋅ July 17, 2014

I was considering a Black Widow Ultimate, but I am unsure if it would fit the theme. I don't think you can change the backlighting from green. The Kraken 7.1 is amazing, and I have tried some other Razer products and they have been great to me. Brightness of the backlight isn't too terribly important as long as it shows through with the color, to me. I haven't needed to see a keyboard to type or game since I was like 5 lol. Thank you for your feedback. It's good. I wanted some insight and thoughts on the products chosen. Ducky? I can't say I have. I'll go check those in a few.

I was going to build from scratch, but the value from Digital Storm is so great, I want to support them and the quality of the Vanquish 2 is great. Maybe I will build my next rig, or just build off of the Vanquish.

Ditch Witch TheKing ⋅ July 17, 2014

you know..I have told the Naga story a million times and everyone else always has great razer feedback re: customer service..so I really think I AM the anomaly lol I love their stuff..I am just afraid it will break..I guess i could just buy from a giant chain store so return would be easy. Problem solved. So far the mouse and kb have been awesome..so i cant bitch lol And no..i cant change the color on the Blackwidow ultimate ..i guess the old blackwidow..before 2013 was blue..but I dont know how easy it would be to get your hands on one of those. Ducky has great reviews from gamers and I know a lot of people who use em for that specific purpose and they really like them..good feel and weight..good actuation force and nice tactile feel..but I cant attest past the fact that I saw blue and you wanted blue. I wanted pink..that was why i got the logitech kb..but it wasnt bright enough and wasnt mech :( I was crushed!

I know what you mean on the 'from scratch' build..i would have preferred to just buy a pre-built that had what I needed tbh..because even though my parts come in tomorrow..i still have to make it all work. Itd be nice if it just showed up in a box and did what i wanted..but I wanted that damn titan card and some other things that I couldnt get a deal on unless I bought them alone. I had a budget and i would have gone way over for a pre-built..i tried tho..SO MUCH easier to just have UPS deliver a nice machine. if i screw this up..its all on me lol i hope you get your new machine soon and its completely awesome. please update..id love to know what you ended up picking and your reviews on it!

TheKing Ditch Witch ⋅ July 17, 2014

Oh and I should be able to have the rig and monitor Aug. 8th, and then everything else Aug. 22. A little bit of time left, but it's basically the final stretch.

Ditch Witch TheKing ⋅ July 17, 2014

i cant wait to hear about it :) This is exciting for me..so please share lol What games are you currently playing btw?

Ditch Witch TheKing ⋅ July 17, 2014

btw i think the backlit is the "Shine"..i think everyone i know uses non-backlit..some people i know bought colored keysets for them too..if you end up with one let me know and i will link. they look pretty cool..tho i have only seen them without the backlighting.

TheKing Ditch Witch ⋅ July 17, 2014

Razer products are definitely quality products, and there are always going to be exceptions. Those Logitech keyboards look awesome, and I know Logitech is good shit, but the issue of them not being mechanical bothers me. That mechanical one I showed in this entry, has more of a Decepticon-y look so I will probably end up getting that one and if it doesn't work I can just grab a new one later.

I have a bit of a budget, like I won't drop a serious dollar amount on just the rig and monitor. But, I am spending a good amount on the total set up. I think in total all of the stuff I intend to get (not counting the potential of new desk/chair) 2300. Which isn't bad at all for all the stuff I am looking at. The entire set up won't go over 3k. And I am completely content with that. I paid 2,000 for my current Alienware m17x R2. And I know Digital Storm is better quality. This alienware was bought before Dell bought them. This thing has so many issues, and pre-dell, alienware computers did not last long. I'm shocked mine is still going at all lol.

I want to build from scratch. I love building. I put together my friend's desktop, because he wanted a gaming rig, but had no idea what he was doing, so I came over and built the thing. Love the build process. It's less hassle to get pre-built, but almost everywhere charges an arm and a leg. Digital Storm doesn't charge much more than the parts.

Ditch Witch TheKing ⋅ July 17, 2014

i use this kb for animation projects..hence the need to see at night..the keys are known..but sometimes I need to use combos that just feel foreign..and they only come up every week or so...JUST enough to never remember them lol yeah i havent had any issues with the current razers..I guess im just paranoid because of previous issue. i live on a mountain so I am hours away from a town..if shit goes wrong on a friday night..the downtime is too big on this end. it scares me. im slowly rebuilding my confidence with them tho :)

I guess I am just nervous about building from scratch..ive done it before..but im always afraid i will screw something up. I use this machine for several jobs and gaming..so I worry that I will get it built..wipe the old machine for another use..then find out i fucked it up so bad that I am screwed. I think I will be a little more at ease once I get it done. Just scary..once again..live on a mountain..so no one to call if it goes bad. freaks me out a bit. im sort of excited tho..feels good to say " i did that"

2300 is a nice budget to have...so many options! im running a dual 24 monitor setup for work..so i dont need anything but the rig itself..i budgeted 2600 for the machine itself..i ended up spending 2k..but i bartered some stuff (motocross parts) for part of the graphics card (it sells for 1k and thats a BIT much for my budget) and for the CPU..that helped a lot..got the titan for half off...that practically saved my budget..i wouldnt have been able to do it without that tbh.

i know what u mean about the mech to non-mech issue. when I go to another machine in the house (i have a few non work machines and a gaming machine in my bedroom that has the second logitech on it)..it feels so...naked. I screw everything up because things just dont react the way I want them to. I had to raid with a non-mech and pretty much had to say "just take me out now"..it was a mess lol

Ditch Witch TheKing ⋅ July 17, 2014

btw i apologize if my notes are too long. its a topic i love..i may be getting a bit too over-zealous in re: to it :) im sorry if I am driving u nuts. truly :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.