Now’s not the time in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • April 15, 2023, 5:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The beach was strange that night. A rather weak cold front was pushing through, but didn’t know when or whether to sweep out to sea. So it was sunny and partly cloudy one minute, and then raining the next. Warm and cooler. Wet and dry. There was a misty shroud over the marsh, but with a bright edge of background sunlight waiting to advance from behind and disperse it. Diffused light. An afternoon of contrasts.
An hour or so later, it was dark.

I was coming down the steps of my brother’s house and walked into a little wind storm. The palmettos were flaying wildly and crackling in a stiff breeze. The moon glanced down from its perch in the sky directly above, visible through brief breaks in the clouds.

In front of me the wind seemed to be visible, a wall, a force that tried to keep me back, even as I walked directly into it. I can’t describe the sensation.

I wanted to walk to the darkened beach through that wind, past some real or imagined gateway that allowed me entrance to another world. I sensed it. But only very briefly. I would stand at the water’s edge and find myself disappearing into the night, the air, the water, the reflected light from moon. The golden orb would suddenly be visible over the ocean, and light the way.

I stood there briefly contemplating whether to take that journey over the sand dunes, but decided the time was not right. Another night. Another night.


Kristi1971 April 17, 2023

My favorite line: "The moon glanced down from its perch in the sky directly above, visible through brief breaks in the clouds." I don't think I've ever used the phrase "glanced down from its perch" for an inanimate object. Love it!

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ April 17, 2023

Thank you! I do love that imagery. Honestly, I need to get back into writing poetry!

Kristi1971 Oswego ⋅ April 17, 2023

Your writing has always spoken to me. I found you on OD long ago, and I was ever so delighted to find you here when I came over here years ago. :)

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ April 17, 2023

That’s so kind of you. I enjoy keeping up with your writing here as well! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.