Infection and crap in Diary

  • July 17, 2014, 4:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The internet isn’t working at work today so we can’t do anything. So I’m writing this in Word and will copy and paste it later.


I ended up leaving work at 4pm yesterday to go to the walk in centre because my infection was just making me too ill and I couldn’t wait until Friday. (I must remember to cancel that doctor appointment) After waiting for two hours in a waiting room full of screaming kids all playing loud games on iPads, I finally went in and spoke to someone. I was in there for about one minute… during which time she told me off for wearing make up and prescribed me antibiotics which I have to take four times a day for a week. Hopefully that will clear me up! But I can’t not wear make up on it, I see loads of people at work every day; both colleagues and visitors as my office is the main reception. I can’t be greeting visitors with a massive weeping sore all over my face. sigh Anyway, hopefully it’ll clear me up.
After that I had just enough time to walk Roxy, get home to eat my dinner and go to roller derby. It’s a good job last night’s session was a theory session for us newbies seeing as I ate so late and wasn’t feeling so hot anyway. I was put in charge of jammer penalty timer. I have no idea of the rules of the game (!) so this is a good way for us to learn. Everyone who came in for a penalty was asking us what they had done wrong, but none of us had a clue; it’s the ref who makes that decision! So at least I’m not the only one who doesn’t understand the millions of rules, lol.
I’ve had it up to here with Amy at work. She’s just completely given up even pretending that I exist. Lately she hasn’t even said a single word to me all day, which is no mean feat considering there are only two of us in the office!

Yesterday she went into the HR office and I heard her tell them that someone in accounts had brought in samosas for everyone and she would go and get some. She came back with a bag full of them, gave one to Barbara, gave one to Fiona, then sat down at her desk without even acknowledging my existence. Really? It’s like that is it?

When I went home early yesterday, I went into the HR office to tell them. Amy was in there, as she seems to live in there since her new best friend Fiona started a couple of months ago (she spends a couple of hours a day in there gossiping about the Kardashians or plaiting Fiona’s hair.) Barbara and Fiona acted all concerned and fussing over me, Amy just looked at me without speaking, with a look that said “How dare you take time off because you’re ill!” Considering I’ve never had ANY time off sick in the three years I’ve worked here, I think going home 90 minutes early on one occasion should be ok..yes? No…? No, I came into work today and Amy still hasn’t even looked at me, never mind asked how I am or anything like that.

Whenever she goes out of the office for an hour, two hours, three hours or whatever, she doesn’t even tell me when she’s going to be back, which is just common courtesy seeing as though I’m the only one in to answer the phones, the door, the emails. She had to go to our London office one day and didn’t even tell me about it. When I asked about it, she just snapped “I told you I was going!” No you didn’t. “Huh, well I definitely told someone.” You might have done, but it wasn’t me!

If there are a few people having a conversation and I say something, she rolls her eyes, sighs loudly and turns away, because I obviously have no right to join in.

I get that we’re all going to meet people who don’t like us and I don’t care about that. But when there’s an office with only two of us in it, you at least have to be polite and courteous. I haven’t done anything wrong to her, just stop being a fucking bitch all the time.

She’s one of the reasons I’m looking forward to leaving here. I can actually hand my notice in any day now! But now it’s upon me, I’m bricking it. It will make it all real and terrifying!


Camdengirl July 17, 2014

Hostile work environment!!!

Babe In Toyland July 17, 2014

If she's so happy to vocalise and act up around around you so visually, why don't you just ask her outright what her problem is with you? If I didn't like someone at work, I'd seethe quietly to myself, but she obviously wants you to know that she has a problem with you. I can ring your office if you like and call her a bitch? No, I wouldn't, but it would be fun to do so! Next time she's so very vocal about her disdain, just say "look, do you have a problem with me?" It's obvious she does, the cockwombling twunt.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ July 17, 2014

Meh, I'm leaving in a few weeks, I'm just going to stick it out until the, I can't be bothered with the confrontation. It will only wind her up more if she's so determined to let me know her feelings and wants me to ask her :op

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ July 17, 2014

In that case, be super saccharine sweet to her. "Hi, Amy! My, that's a beautiful blouse you're wearing! And your hair....sniff smells SO beautiful! What shampoo do you use?" Creep her out, lol!

Babe In Toyland July 17, 2014

Just so you know, I have an infection in exactly the same place on my face. Mine is tiny, it started off as a spot about three weeks ago, but it's still got pus in it and won't heal. I blame you. Are you coming up soon?

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ July 17, 2014

Sorry! Mine should be healing now as I'm taking antibiotics, so hopefully yours will too!

I'll be coming up for August Bank Holiday weekend, which is from the evening of Friday 22nd :o)

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ July 18, 2014

You HAVE got the weekend off for Alt Fest, haven't you? I hadn't realised I'd got 5 day camping! I wonder if it cost the same as 3 days because it was only £20. I'll have to sort out getting down to yours as well.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ July 18, 2014

Yes I have, I booked it in January lol! I can't go for the five day camping, but if that's the case, perhaps we could go on Thursday night if you want, to get a good spot. Although it might be dark by the time we get there.

Yay, let me know when you've sorted it out; my nearest train station is either Bescot Stadium or Tame Bridge and I'll be able to pick you up after work and walking Roxy, which should be about 7pm :)

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ July 18, 2014

Yep, going down on the Thursday sounds cool. I might come down to Brum on the bus again, but I'll let you know nearer the time. :)

Hypnotica July 17, 2014

Learn the rules. Best advice I can give you. Its hard, and a lot of them won't make sense until you're scrimming, but learn them before you get there and you give yourself a massive headstart. Get a few freshies together and use tiddlywinks to mark out players on a paper track and just go through it. There's also an app for testing yourself.

Bomb Shell Hypnotica ⋅ July 17, 2014

Yeah I have a couple of apps and I've joined a few Facebook groups with "Rule of the day" and similar things. I'm NSOing this coming Sunday so I'm sure I'll pick up more rules the more I watch it as well :o)

~Twinkle~ July 17, 2014

Hope the infection clears soon! Xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.