Mixed bag in Life

  • July 16, 2014, 8:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text 7-13-14

Another buzy weekend. Gina, Kenny, me, Lainie, Gina’s brothers and their families plus Gina’s best friend and her family all went to the Royals game Friday. We had a good time. I enjoyed the time with Lainie. I went to Gina’s for dinner before the game and got to spend one on one time with Lainie. A stray kitten showed up at their house and Lainie is in love with it. She treats the kitten much better than her cats and dogs. Gina insists that 5 cats is too many so they are trying to find a home for it. Lainie is at a very suggestable age. I suggested the kittens name was Snowball to Lainie and her friends Emma and Tori and they all agreed. I also suggested that Lainie wanted a spider for Christmas and she must have told her mom that ten times. Hopefully Gina will not find out I was the one behind the spider idea. :) Lainie was not very suggestable though on the subject of whether or not tigers purred. I told her they did but she had to ask her mom. She was so cute saying. “Do tigers purr? Mama”

7-16-14

I've hit a major road block in hitting my goals. All last week I had a pain in my butt but it wasnt too bad until Sunday when I went for my long run (9-12 miles). Its been too hot to do the long run outside so for the last 3 weeks I’ve done it on a treadmill. Starting out at 15 minute miles and then trying to improve by a minute a mile each week. So without any warm up I started running and with each mile the pain in the butt was worse and worse. I was still determined to get in 10 miles. At 5 miles I started walking and the pain got to the point where it was a shooting stabbing pain. I finally quit at 8 miles. By Monday just sitting in my chair at work was agony and the pain went all the way from my left hip all the way down to the sole of my foot. I called Angie and she felt like it was sciatica which I agree is likely and told me to rest Monday and Tuesday and that we would discuss it further during our next session. I left work feeling sorry for myself and feeling like a deserved to pamper myself. “Pampering” t

urned into oatmeal, nuts, ice cream, popcorn, sonic BLT, fries and a shake. At one point before the trip to Sonic I was thinking how there was really no fast food I liked anymore and I didn't have to continue the behavior. That process lasted about a half hour to an hour but it gives me hope that the next time I’ll be able to do a better job at talking myself out of the binge.

I feel a little bit better about things after my session with Angie today. She had me ride the stationary bike for my warm up and I was encouraged that it didn't hurt. Maybe I’ll turn into one of those crazy cycle people riding around in funny shorts and a helmet dinging a bell. :)

alt text


edna million July 17, 2014

Lainie is adorable -- and it's always good to see such a young cat fan!

A glitch is just a glitch -- and thinking about it like that is the very best way to head it off in the future. Especially when you realize the stuff you used to binge on isn't even good.

Squidobarnez July 17, 2014

I'm proud of you for handling all of that pretty well. I hope your butt stops hurting, and that you're having a lovely now.

PB-buddy-huggies

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.