Site Upgrade in Site Updates

  • July 16, 2014, 6:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

First of all, on a personal note, thanks for all your wonderful comments to me. There are way too many to try to respond to individually, so here's a group hug.

You may or may not have noticed that the site crashed this morning. It happened early in the morning while I was still in bed, so I assume that this is when all you lovely people on the U.S. east coast are up with your coffee, checking in first thing before starting the day. It's the same time of day that the site crashed less than a month ago. I've come to the conclusion that the site is starting to experience some growing pains that should be addressed sooner rather than later. Hey, there are over 162,000 entries on Prosebox now... not too shabby!

I am scheduling maintenance for 10PM MST (12AM EST) tonight. At this time I will attempt to move the database to its own machine (or VM if you want to get technical). I'm fairly confident that this will happen quickly and successfully, but the site will be down for at least a few minutes so that this can happen. So be sure and save anything before this time.

And for those of you coming from a previous website that many of us knew and loved, NO IT WILL NOT TAKE A WEEK.

:)


The Thirsty Oriental July 16, 2014

Gee… no idea which website you could be referring to… :-)

Teflon Superhero July 16, 2014

But...what if we already made plans for the supposed week we'd thought it'd take!?

THIS IS SWITCHING FROM DIAL UP ALL OVER AGAIN!

*curls into ball*

Lobbastah July 16, 2014

I have no idea what other site you are referring to.

Leanne 🌈 July 16, 2014

yeah it was down when i tried to get on this morning :( But..... I knew it would be up and running asap....THANKS! :)

banker chick July 16, 2014

Oh come on, no website has ever taken a week to do simple maintenance. Where could you have gotten such an idea? ;)

Etoile Filante banker chick ⋅ July 17, 2014

Haaaaaa!!! xXx

Hotaru July 16, 2014

I noticed it was down this morning, but it was back up so quickly. Thanks for the prompt attention, especially when you have a new baby to keep you busy.

QueSeraSera July 16, 2014

good luck :) i am sure all will go well

Caty Shark July 16, 2014

Yay! Thanks

james ensor July 16, 2014

How do you save PBs?

simple mind james ensor ⋅ July 16, 2014

You mean export? Don't have that feature... yet.

james ensor simple mind ⋅ July 16, 2014

You said to make sure to save anything. Did you just mean entries in progress or something?

simple mind james ensor ⋅ July 16, 2014

Oh right, I just don't want people trying to save an entry while I'm taking things offline. Don't worry, I have plenty of safeguards in place to protect everything that is already there. :)

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm July 16, 2014

it was down when i tried to post this morning but i just put away my laptop and did something else. there are things to do besides being online. i have made sure that being online isn't a serious thing for me. i had time to sit and read and play with my little dog. take care,

Flame is Love July 16, 2014

I so love the wah, the site was down entries but only saw one this morning. How dare you be so responsive?

/sarcasm

Jeanine July 16, 2014

:D

Silverstar46 July 16, 2014

If you didn't tell us - I don't know that I'd ever notice when the place crashes cuz it happens and is gone so quickly!

Camdengirl July 17, 2014

Whenever I saw the Other Site crashing you would have that heart lurching fear of losing it all - however I got the sad panda yesterday and thought "ah no worries - he's probably still in bed and it will be up by this evening" - lo and behold it was!

Everything Good Rebecca July 17, 2014

Thank you for the information and especially for presenting the last bit with such good humor!

BentnotBroken July 17, 2014

Aw hell. And I made sandwiches for everyone.

middle age pearl July 17, 2014

:)

Reading_Blankie 📚 July 27, 2014

I think in general the "other site" was slower than molasses in January. With many other demands, it just couldn't keep up. And everything was so wishy washy with the site being down, updates, etc, along with "the leader dude" not really giving a crap.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.