Life Alert in Open Book

  • July 16, 2014, 8:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was having a tough time sleeping last night (nothing new) so I opted to stay on the couch and watch a little TV...I drifted off to sleep around midnight. An hour and a half later I awoke to the sound of an alarm.

At first I thought it was a weird sounding car alarm...Then I thought it was our alarm going haywire (we had a home alarm system installed a little while ago) so I jumped up and checked ours...Wasn't ours...

I went back to our room but, Eric was still asleep. So I throw on a pair of shoes and go outside to see what is going on...I then hear "Alarm activated, help is on the way." Then through an intercom I hear someone talking.

About 3 minutes after that a fire truck pulls up and a few guys with flashlights start searching around...They ask me where Unit 121 is and I show them (where my elderly neighbor lives).

The house is black and silent...Then the alarm starts up again...All the doors are locked. I offered to go through a window but, they told me not to worry about it, they would do that.

The cops showed up too and started asking me questions about her...I don't really know her too well...She is elderly and stays inside a lot. I only talk to her here and there if I see her out in her yard (she lives directly behind us and our backyards face one another). They asked when the last time I saw her was and I told them it's been at least a week.

Anyway, another neighbor came out who had more information...I walked back to my house and from there I watched them take a screen off a back window and go through...They ended up having to call the EMTs out.

I'm not sure what happened but, I hope she is ok. I see a light on in her kitchen right now but I don't know if that was left on from when the EMTs were there or what.

Turns out the alarm was part of the Life Alert system...From what a fireman was saying there is a main base unit in the house (I think he said it's connected to a land line which is explains why the phone would ring periodically, I guess they were trying to get her on the phone after she pressed the wearable alert button).

So scary...Though after last night I'm glad we got one for my Grandma...It does work and it didn't take long at all for help to arrive.

Oh and the people at life alert were able to call her daughter (the cops were asking the other neighbor and I if we had a way to contact her, which we didn't). Life Alert keeps emergency contact info on file too so that they can reach others for you (pretty cool).

I was thinking I should probably go and check in on her...Though I feel like it might be rude to disturb her if she is home and trying to rest...Maybe I'll just leave some flowers and a little card with my phone number in it in case she needs something...

I'm sooo tired (I didn't get to sleep til 3am and was up at 6:30am)...I just might actually need a nap today.


illustrious July 16, 2014

Poor thing. My grandma had one too, and it gave us a lot of peace of mind. I hope she's okay!

Leslie Bruce July 16, 2014

Scary!! I would check on her. Just to satisfy my curiosity if not anything else. =)

nowthat'salady July 16, 2014

The flowers, card, and phone number is such a nice idea.

Deleted user July 16, 2014

Yes, days/nights like that are very deserving of a next day nap. Hope you take one when Evie goes down.

I love your flowers/card and phone number idea. You are so caring, would love to have you as a neighbour :)

Satine July 16, 2014

You are such a sweet neighbor. Glad they were able to help quickly.

Perpetually Plump July 16, 2014

Holy smokes! I am really glad to know that it works in an emergency! I need to tell one of my other faves about this for her mama.

~Mrs. O~ Perpetually Plump ⋅ July 16, 2014

Your note made me realize I should have made this a public entry (I will do that now)...If your fave wants to read and ask questions that is great!

I was a little skeptical at first but, now that I have seen it in action I'm a supporter. The alarm from my neighbors house was SO loud last night that if the firemen/cops hadn't shown up when they did, I would have gone through the window on my own anyway.

Kristi1971 July 16, 2014

Check in on her. You will not be bothering her. And once you have done it, it will begin to be a routine for your to check in on her. You will also gain a wonderful friend out of the situation. :) I hope she is ok!

kansasgirl July 17, 2014

Hope your neighbor is ok!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.