More whinging and moaning in Diary

  • July 16, 2014, 3:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm pretty sure the cut on my chin is infected. A couple of days ago it started to go red and swell up and now it's huge, hard, red and very painful. I'm also starting to feel a bit sick and woozy. PLUS my top lip has swollen up and is very tender and I don't recall cutting it or anything, also, where my earlobe meets my head, it's starting to split and is also painful. This is all very weird and I'm wondering if it's all related.

So I rang my doctor this morning to make an appointment, figuring some antibiotics should sort me out and the earliest appointment they have is Friday! If it keeps getting worse, I'm not sure I can wait that long. There's a walk in centre a few miles away from my house. It's open until 8pm so I might pop in there after work. I hope they can fit me in before roller derby as, last time I went to a walk in centre, I was waiting about three hours.

The NHS is in a proper shambles right now.

Who would have thought that a simple trip and fall could cause so much bloody aggro?

  • Missed roller derby last Wednesday.
    * Couldn't walk Roxy for two days.
    * Turned up to donate blood last night and they wouldn't take it in case it was dirty.
    * Infected chin making me ill.
    * Can't sing properly and we need to get in plenty of practice for Chillifields next Saturday.
    * Knee still hurts to bend as it's scabbed over right where I bend it, which makes getting around very slow and painful.

Here are a couple of gross photos, feel free to skip this bit.

This looks a lot worse and more swollen in real life. You can just about see how it's knocked my mouth to the side with the swelling.

Knee now, since it scabbed over (which took about three days!)

feeling sorry for myself


HardCandy July 16, 2014

omfg go to the docs asap! that looks so bad!

Bomb Shell HardCandy ⋅ July 16, 2014

My doctor doesn't have any appointments until Friday though, it's a complete joke. I'm going to have to go to the walk in and demand to be seen!

My sister's horrible story below has definitely persuaded me to go now...

boiling_man July 16, 2014

Ouch; feel better!

Bomb Shell boiling_man ⋅ July 16, 2014

Thanks, I'll do my best! :o)

Babe In Toyland July 16, 2014

Yes, go to the walk in centre. I got an infection in my nose once, I think it was to do with my piercing. I didn't go to the doctors, which was really stupid as it spread up into my forehead and behind my eye. So painful! As retch inducing as it was, when it finally came to a head on the tip of my nose, I HAD to open it, the pain was unbearable. Totally gross, I never want that to happen again. There was a LOT of...well, you know what....in it. Gag.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ July 16, 2014

Eww that's horrible. When did that happen? I don't remember that! I bet it was a sort of relief when it all came out, though. You've definitely persuaded me to go now.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ July 16, 2014

Just after I started uni. So 2003?

Camdengirl July 16, 2014

Walk in centre for you - definitely needs some attention!

I actually think all doctors should be like walk-in centres for emergency appointments, you wait till everyone more urgent has been seen and then they should have say an hour of routine appointments which you can book but they run to time and you get kicked out after your allotted 15 mins.

I can't actually complain about ours though - they are excellent.

Babe In Toyland Camdengirl ⋅ July 16, 2014

My local doctors in Preston used to do that. You could just turn up after hours and you'd get seen if there wasn't too many people waiting.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ July 16, 2014

It's a good idea. I heard on the news they're talking about putting GPs into walk-in centres. It's definitely something they need, waiting times are just too long. If you're ill and want to see your doctor, you don't want to wait three days!

~Twinkle~ July 16, 2014

Poor you :( definitely get yourself to the walk in centre xx

Bomb Shell ~Twinkle~ ⋅ July 16, 2014

Sonja's story above has definitely persuaded me to do so!

Deleted user July 16, 2014

Get in right away!! Its infected :(

history of love July 16, 2014

I hope you have managed to get seen at the drs/walk in centre. Looks nasty. At my GP you can ring up when they open to see if they have any "on the day" apts but otherwise it's quite far in advance.

puffin July 16, 2014

Owch!! Yes that looks infected. I'd be terrible with that knee scab..i cant help but pick even though i know it's bad. I haven't seen a scab that big since i was little!! (and yes i think you're right, huge cuts and grazes heal better when you're a kid!)

Bomb Shell puffin ⋅ July 17, 2014

Oh you wouldn't pick this one, it's bloody painful! Even when I just sitting here doing nothing, I can feel it throbbing and stinging; picking is definitely out of the question!

puffin July 16, 2014

Maybe keep cleaning the area with witch hazel and whatever other stuff we're supposed to use, until you can see a dr. Poor thing :( xx

Bomb Shell puffin ⋅ July 17, 2014

Yeah I've been using tea tree oil on it. I now have antibiotics so hopefully it'll start getting better now!

mutedexposure July 17, 2014

my son tripped and fell on the sidewalk and had a knee scrape. It turned into staph and in days he had swelling and redness and then there was a gaping hole in his knee. Please get checked asap.

Bomb Shell mutedexposure ⋅ July 17, 2014

That's what I've got, but it's right on my face where everyone can see it, lol. I've been and got some antibiotics now so hopefully it'll start getting better. I hope your son made a good recovery.

Deleted user July 17, 2014

Go to the doctors!

Bomb Shell Deleted user ⋅ July 17, 2014

I had made an appointment but I was going to have to wait two days before they could fit me in. I went to the walk in centre last night and, after waiting two hours, they gave me some antibiotics so hopefully it'll start getting better now :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.