Rising food costs in Open Book

  • July 15, 2014, 11:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

As you're all aware, the rising food costs are INSANE.

I went to the store today to pick up a few items for dinners this week...$58 for 2 dinners to feed a family of 3 (the dogs are already taken care of this week as you all know I do cook for my dogs as well)...

Holy shit...

You know what the REAL SHOCKER was though?...Buying all the ingredients to make things "from scratch."

I'm not really into jarred or canned food (umm I can taste the glass and the tin)...I try to make just about everything from scratch...I flucking suck at baking, so I happily buy pre-made pie crusts (I don't make fruit pies, I make turkey pot pies in the cooler months)...

Anyway...I have Zucchini bake on tonight's menu (kind of like lasagna without noodles and meat)...Tomorrow I have Asparagus, Artichoke, and Lemon pasta lined up.

Both are meatless entries...Both SHOULD be cheap...I even make HALF of what the recipes call for (because I flucking hate leftovers, ewwwww).

You'd think I could make both from scratch rather cheaply (especially since they don't require meat).

But no...

Vegetables are OUTRAGEOUS...As I was going through the recipes I realized that I COULD make both dishes for half the cost if I wanted to used canned and/or jarred stuff...Like spaghetti sauce that comes in a jar.

Ummm thanks but, no thanks...

I still can't fathom how something that is pre-made (just think of costs that go into pre-made food...Factory space, employees, insurance, shipping, overhead, etc, etc...) is just SOOOO much cheaper than something made from scratch (I buy all the veggies and prepare the sauces myself).

I have gone to a few farmer's markets around here and their prices aren't any better than Nob Hill's, so I don't bother with those anymore...

It is just mind blowing and frustrating. Honestly, we could take our family of 3 out to dinner for these prices...No wonder American's are so un-healthy...Their bank accounts don't leave any other option.

It's just SAD.


ninakir88 July 16, 2014

where are you shopping?

DesignSlave July 16, 2014

Do container gardens, maybe? You can grow some basics that way. Crops have been pricey this year thanks to the rough winter. Crazy how it's all connected.

Deleted user July 16, 2014

Food is stupid expensive. Cripes, meat alone is ridiculous.

Camdengirl July 16, 2014

It's the waste that goes into transporting the fresh stuff... We tend to do frozen unless it's in season and local. We have a grocer round the corner who is great at buying in the seasonal stuff which makes it super cheap - but his stuff is only ever good for that day so you need to use it then and there or freeze it.

MichelleyTX July 16, 2014

Ek! That sucks, but I totally feel ya! Try feeding a family of 7 cheaply! I try to stay at 100 or 125/week to feed us (that's w/ food, diapers, shampoo, etc) and it's so damn hard these days!

kansasgirl July 16, 2014

I hate grocery shopping with a passion, cooking isn't much far after that. I end up eating out/grabbing fast food more than I should. Which can be much more expensive (and less healthy) than just buying groceries and cooking. Yet, when I do go to the grocery store and buy stuff I balk at the cost. It's crazy, but I know in the end I should just suck it up and do more grocery store shopping than eating out, bc I'm sure I'll still save more in the end.

Satine July 16, 2014

I love that you cook for your dogs. Maybe you should become an EXTREME COUPONER. I always watch that show and get so excited but NYC stores are not big on coupons :)

Kristi1971 July 17, 2014

Oh, yes, the grocery bill is ridiculous. And I do buy organic as much as possible. I have done the comparison shopping, though, and in our neck of the woods, the prices are not much higher. We just have less selection, but it's ok by me.

I've thought of couponing, like Satine said, but I don't have the time for that - or the patience. Ugh. I cringe at the thought. But - it might help! :)

HUGS

It's Time For Me. July 17, 2014

Food prices are ridiculous. I hate having to go grocery shopping every week because it seems prices go up each week.

Small Town Girl July 17, 2014

Its terrible! People should be eating fresh and making meals rather than the chemically filled garbage that is pre made! Preservative are so bad! its terrible it is so much more expensive to eat clean and healthy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.