Job Aggravation This Morning.... in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • July 15, 2014, 6:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am kind of ready to blow my top at my primary job..... They recently instituted mandatory overtime, so that I have to give them one of my days off. This means, that I had to tell my second job that I'm not available one day a week. I am scheduled right now for a 52 hour week in my four days off from the prison. It's a lot of hours, but I need the money right now to pay my new car off quickly. I don't like debt.
Suffice it to say, the second job is not happy either. This morning, following proper call-in procedure, I woke at 3am, called in and they told me to call back at 5am, which I did. The lieutenant answered and asked if I was mandatory and wanted to work, I told her yes and she said she would call back. She called back and told me to come, so I got dressed and was literally opening the door to leave, when she called yet again and told me NOT to come in. So I undressed, got back in bed......and they just called back and asked if I would come in after all. I need the income, I really do.....but I told them "no". I've worked the last 42 days anyway without a break, so I probably could use the day off. I need a haircut anyway. I know employers have bigger considerations than my inconvenience; I've been an employer so I am familiar with the need to maintain staffing, especially in a correctional facility, but come on. I go to work everyday at both jobs, am currently working 101 hours a week, and just don't feel like jumping through hoops today because the lieutenant can't get her act together. On the lighter side, after I get my haircut, I get to spend the afternoon with the eldest offspring, Brandon. That doesn't happen nearly often enough to suit me, so I'll go enjoy him and the grandsons while I have this opportunity. When life gives you lemons...... Actually, I kind of despise lemons unless they're in a pie but I'll take this day as a win since it gets to be family time. So for today, Goodbye, Ciao, Sayonara, Arrivederci, and all that jazz.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.