I Love My New Journal! in A New Beginning

  • July 15, 2014, 5:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am really happy with my new "sortuv secret diary." :o) !! I don't know if I'll do any better at writing here, but I might! Here I am only writing for me, and the four friends I care the most about. :o) !! It's almost like keeping a private journal, which I've never been able to do because I like so much attention. My friend Energy Alchemist keeps journals just for herself. I admire that. :o) !!

I am feeling a huge amount of satisfaction with my life right now. This summer is so much better than last, when I was laid-up with the broken finger! Not that it kept me from going places, but it did keep me from doing things, because I was always trying to keep it from getting infected! (Though I didn't try hard enough, because i was always getting infected. What a bother it was!) I certainly couldn't do garden work. It'd be hard to do that without getting ones hands dirty!

But this year I am being pretty productive in the garden. We have a huge garden (by the standards of most of our friends), and trying to keep a step ahead of the weeds is a constant battle. We were doing pretty well, but then we went to Maine for six days, and now I think the weeds have a chance of winning! I already can't find my onions. And I know there are still quite a few of them out there! But after supper last night I did find our green beans, and saved them from the weeds! The biggest plants have lots of blossoms. We will have more beans than we’d expected! I am sooooooooooooo happy and thankful that Joey is working for our farming neighbors. He is not getting as many hours as he’d like, and this frustrates him, but I remind him that at least he is making some money….which is better than making no money. His boss, Roy, doesn’t want to have him work too many hours in the heat….and here in Delaware we sure do get heat! Roy worries about heat exhaustion and heatstroke. Joey, of course, being young and strong, think he’s invincible. He does have enough sense to keep himself well-hydrated in the heat, though! Three days ago Joey quit smoking to save money. That is going well so far, and saving money is a good enough reason. If a person quits, even if it’s to save money, he’s still doing a good thing for his health! Sooooo, Carrie and Max are coming on Sunday and staying ‘til Thursday. I just realized last night that I don’t have anything for them to sleep on except the couches! So I have emailed our friend Peggy, whose nice thick air bed we borrowed a couple years ago, to ask if we can borrow it again. They can sleep IN the living room, since Joe and I go to bed early anyway…..we just need something for them to sleep ON. Max will be fine on a couch, as small as he is, but I think an adult-sized person will need something better. One night on a couch isn’t bad, but four or five nights on a couch isn’t good! I will be teaching another workshop in two weeks!! A coven up around Milford, PA, invited me up to do a book-signing and teach a class at their metaphysical shop. I have outlined a class I’m going to call “Working Magick for your Life” or something. It’s going to be good. I was happy to realize that there are actually a number of things I “could” teach a class on! :o) !! Well, dear Friends, I’m going to sign off for today. I hope your day is wonderful in every way! I am thankful you are in my life! Hugs and blessings, Nicky


Deleted user July 15, 2014

This was a really upbeat positive entry! I hope we get to see pictures of Max. He must be getting so big by now.

Ragdolls July 26, 2014

Your garden sounds very nice & productive!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm August 29, 2014

tell me just how much work is your garden? what is it's dimensions? what crops do you have? how many plants of each? are there any crops that you decided not to grow anymore? why? i want a bigger garden but i don't know if i 'll be able to keep it up myself. do you wanter it after you get it started or do you let it go and just let rain water it? take care.

Here I am again! Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ August 29, 2014

Hi Sandra! Our garden is really big this year.....50 by 100' or so. We planted: summer yellow squash, zucchini, butternut squash, green and wax beans, tomatoes, onions, beets, potatoes, corn, cabbage, watermelon, cukes, cantaloupe. These things we planted but they didn't do well: cauliflower, broccoli, lettuce, peas (never even came up!!!!) We had three 50' rows of beans, four rows each of potatoes and corn, around 15 summer squash/zucchini plants, about 25' half-row of beets, 4 tomato plants, 1 row of onions, 8 cabbage plants, and just a few of the other stuff. You could have a small garden, maybe 6' by 10', and grow a bit of many things though! A garden IS work, but a small garden is lots easier of course. Our huge one was lots of work! We water it weekly, if we do not get weekly rain. If you plant young plants instead of seeds, you do need to water them every day for a few days to help them get started. But seeds, you don't need to water! :o) !!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.